Turkey tikka masala

10 06 2007

We (or I should say O) made our first tikka masala, with turkey, instead of chicken, and pilau rice – it was so yummy! O made garam masala from scratch yesterday, a spice mix with cummin, cinnamon, cloves and cardamom (from Indiska kokboken – an old cookbook from the Swedish Indiska shop that I have actually never used)… and then the marinade (recipe from Jamie Oliver’s Jamie’s Dinners), let the turkey marinate for 24 hours and this evening we prepared the rest.

What a success, even if O was a bit disappointed that it didn’t look and taste exactly like the Indian restaurants – but P, our Swedish friend & neighbour and I loved it!

Now I want to try another recipe, I love cook books but am so lazy to actually look up a new recipe, especially as you usually don’t have all the ingredients at home.

A new working week tomorrow but only working for another five days before the one-week holiday – can’t wait…


Actions

Information

7 responses

11 06 2007
Annika

Oh, I would have loved to try your Tikka Masala. I am sure it tasted great. I love Indian food…Hmm…Maybe I should try to make something myself along those lines?

11 06 2007
Desiree von Tell

Spännande att ni snart ska iväg till Puerto Rico för första gången och kolla. Att vara där i 1.5 år kommer att vara ett härligt äventyr. Vad spännande och kul. Din Dikka Masala lät verkligen smaskig.

11 06 2007
petchie

Japp, tikka masalan (den var ju faktiskt Os kreation så jag ska inte ta åt mig äran!) var supergod! Pilauriset var enkelt, lite lök som frästes i grytan med olja, i med basmatiris, spiskummin, gurkmeja (som ger riset den gula färgen) och ngt lagerblad – mums!
Man borde ta sig tid lite oftare att testa nya recept, det blir så ofta “vad ska vi äta till middag?” och så blir det det gamla vanliga… men det gäller ju att planera lite bättre.
Jag har sådan resfeber inför söndag – är det någon som vet om vi har “a chance in hell” att hinna till vårt flyg till PR på JFK på 1 timme, genom immigration, customs och allt vad det är? Antar att American Airlines tycker så iaf!

12 06 2007
Mary T

Here’s the link to a blog I love, they own an Italian deli in Limerick and they post up their favourite recipes, simple Italian family cooking along with snippets of Italian life, hollidays etc. I’ve made plenty of the recipes on the blog and they’ve all been so simple and delicious!

12 06 2007
Mary T

Ahem… might be useful if I actually sent you the link…

http://italianfoodies.blog.com/

12 06 2007
petchie

Thanks Mary T, I will check it out – you know that I love Italian food! Tonight we are going to Le IIème element for some thai food (I’m sure that you’ve been to the restaurant on St Boniface?).

12 06 2007
Mary T

Yeah I love that place, that was the first restaurant I took Katrin Heinrich to when she moved to Brussels, have a great night. Unfortunately (as you’ve seen…) the choice of nice restaurants here at home doesn’t really compare to Brussels! But B and I are going to a nice Italian on Thursday night for our 3 year anniversary! (not that we need an excuse for a night out…)

Leave a Reply

