Moving day!

2 08 2007

The movers have been here since 8 o’clock (two hours so far) and I don’t think that things are moving very fast… One Höganäs cup is broken (fortunately I’m going back to Sweden next week so I can replace it), and O was very disappointed that he couldn’t bring his 15 litres of olive oil (I knew it, but he’s always an optimist!)… but we seem to have space enough for all of our things.

I’m hungry and bored, but hopefully they will be done soon (see, now I am the optimist!). I went to bed at 02 last night and got up at 06 to get everything prepared – I hope that nothing will get mixed up and we’ll end up with the wrong things in Puerto Rico or in storage.

It feels very strange that we are emptying this apartment, I have lived here since May 2003 and it’s been a great home. I will still stay here for another month or so, my friend T from Austria is taking over the contract from the 1st September when he moves to Brussels from New York. I have another few months to get used to the move, a phasing-out of my life in Brussels, but O is leaving on Tuesday after 7 years in Belgium!

However, we have been talking about this move since March-April last year so we have had a lot of time to think about it, get used to the idea etc. But, I think that we, and quite a few of our friends, thought that it would never happen in the end!! So, it feels very strange and concrete at the moment.. Well, we are just going for 18 months, hopefully enough time for me to learn Spanish and get used to the crazy traffic.

At first we were supposed to have gone to El Paso in Texas, but I think that Puerto Rico is so much interesting. Especially for people coming to visit us, I will have to find a way to put a “booking calendar” on the blog so that people can see when our “B ‘n’ B” is available! Two Flemish couples might come in January, they found tickets for 500 EUR and they are ready to buy their tickets already.


Actions

Information

6 responses

2 08 2007
Desiree

Det är jobbigt att flytta helt klart. Vad har ni hittat för boende i PR? Har ni några planer ännu för vart ni ska ta vägen efter era 18 månader i PR?

2 08 2007
petchie

Det är sååå skönt att flytten är delvis över nu, jag har rätt till 250 kg när jag flyttar i sept-oktober men det är inte mycket kvar, mest mina kläder och lite böcker.
Du kan läsa om vårt boende i min post från juni – det är i ett condominium på 9:e våningen med havsutsikt, ca 200 m2 … helt ok!
Vi vet inte riktigt vad Os företag har för planer för honom efter hans “utbytesår” i PR, vi får se vad de föreslår men annars vill O helst tillbaka till Spanien och det är jag ok med så länge jag kan hitta ett jobb (och det är därför jag måste lära mig spanska i PR!). Vi är ganska klara med Belgien nu.

2 08 2007
Desiree

Jag ska absolut ta och kolla in ert boende i PR. Låtet kanonfint. Spanien låter nice efter PR. Jag tror att du säkert kommer att lära dig spanska galant under er period i PR. Ha en bra dag.

3 08 2007
Mary T

Save space for a certain pale Irish couple intent on getting a Carribbean tan!

4 08 2007
Anne-Marie

Det är alltid en omställning att lämna en plats man bott på ett tag. Du verkar ju ha bott på väldigt många platser så du måste vara van att flytta. Jag har lagt upp en länk till din blogg från min blogg. Hoppas det är okej.

4 08 2007
petchie

Anne-Marie, inga problem, jag ska göra samma med din blogg!
Visst har jag bott på många olika platser, men det har alltid varit inom Europa, Karibien är ju lite annorlunda både till klimat och kultur. Och fem år i Bryssel är en lång tid, jag har inte bott så länge på något ställe sedan jag flyttade hemifrån! Men, det kommer säkert att gå bra.

Leave a Reply

