A smack in the supermarket

26 08 2007

No, I wasn’t the one who got smacked in the supermarket this morning, it was a child of course (I say of course because I live in Belgium where children get smacked all the time)… But, what shocked me more than just the smack was the smacker – not the father who couldn’t control the child but a fellow shopper!! A stranger! Isn’t that just absolutely shocking?

I was standing by the cash register and there were these two completely out of control children who were touching everything and not listening to their parents who tried to say no, don’t touch… The man who was standing behind me said loudly “Ecoutez votre père” and when it didn’t help, he smacked one of the children! And even more shocking than that this man decided to discipline somebody else’s child, was that the parents didn’t even react! Can you imagine if that had happened to a child with Swedish parents!!

Needless to say that I am against corporate (opps!) corporal punishment of children as it is officially called… Check this web-site: http://www.endcorporalpunishment.org/ I participated in a workshop on the subject during the Commission on Human Rights at the UN in Geneva in 2002, a very interesting discussion arose with people of different cultural backgrounds. As a Swede I am very proud that Sweden was the first country to ban corporal punishment of children:

Sweden was the first country in the world to prohibit all corporal punishment of children. In 1979 a provision was added to the Parenthood and Guardianship Code which now reads: “Children are entitled to care, security and a good upbringing. Children are to be treated with respect for their person and individuality and may not be subjected to corporal punishment or any other humiliating treatment.” (taken from the above-mentioned web-site)

So, don’t smack your child and do not smack somebody else’s child – it’s a question of respect for the child!

Now I’m watching Carolina Klüft winning the heptathlon at the World Championships in Osaka… She is just so impressive, and the BBC commentators agree!


Actions

Information

4 responses

26 08 2007
Anne

Oj, oj helt otroligt. Man tror inte det är sant, att en främling, en helt okänd person i affären bara gör så här. Och föräldrar som inte reagerar. Ja, vad är värst?
Det är de där vardagliga grejerna som andra infödda knappt ser eller reagerar på som man som alien märker.
Är precis som du helt emot barnaga. Skulle kunna debattera detta länge och väl men så här på söndagsmorgonen nöjer jag mig så här och sätter punkt här.

26 08 2007
Annika

Jösses! Så det är vardagsmat alltså? Förstår inte att inte fldrarna reagerade. Nog är vi olika länder emellan.
Själv blir jag ILLA berörd när min bufflige amerikanske svåger försöker uppfostra sina egna barn med kommentarer som: How do you answer me???? You will answer me “yes sir” and you’ll answer your mother “yes ma’am”. Fan, jag ryser varje ggn, och varje ggn är jag på vippen att säga ngt.
Barnens kusiner ger han sig också på! Skriker och domderar. Jag blir tokig. Jag har svårt att skriva om det här på min blogg, men ngn ggn tar jag kanske upp det.

Det som du var vittne till är verkligen VIDRIGT!!

27 08 2007
Anne-Marie

Det låter ju helt sanslöst att en total främling tar sig sådana friheter. Och att föräldrarna inte reagerar. Usch, vad otrevligt det måste ha varit att se det hela. Här i USA är föräldrar mycket mera strikta mot sina barn än vad svenska föräldrar är. Jag har reagerat flera gånger när jag sett rätt så tuffa tag.

28 08 2007
petchie

Anne, jag kunde inte heller bestämma mig vad som var värst, främlingens agerande eller föräldrarnas icke-reaktion. Jag hade också kunnat diskutera anti-barnaga i evigheter men orkade inte riktigt skriva ner mer just då.
Annika, din svåger låter som värsta buffeln, är han officer? Nej, det är alltid lite komplicerat att säga ifrån för skarpt när det är i familjen.
Anne-Marie, jag blev så paff men som tur var så såg jag att även killen i kassan blev chockad, det kändes betryggande att det inte bara var jag som reagerade på situationen.

Leave a Reply

