Where is home?

28 08 2007

I am following the example of Anne in Oregon and Victoria in Florida today as their blog posts on the issue of home for an expat were so interesting. As an expat you often get the question from family and friends; when are you going to move back home? I usually answer that I don’t think that I will move back to Sweden, and to be honest, my family doesn’t ask me that question!

My parents told me a few years ago that they had decided that I was not allowed to move back to Sweden but could I please move to a warmer country… that was at the end of March after a long and cold winter! So, what can I do – only obey my parents and find myself a Spanish boyfriend! Well, of course my parents wouldn’t mind if I moved home but fortunately they have always been very supportive of me living abroad and they always come to visit several times a year.

I discussed the subject with two Swedish expats over lunch, my friend E and her Swedish colleague. E has been in Brussels for 12 years and is married to a Swede, the other woman has been in Brussels back and forth since 1999 and is married to a Londoner. So, do they want to move home? No, definitely not at the moment and they both agreed that it would be very very hard to return to Sweden. You change so much when living abroad and countries also change – and all of a sudden you might not be compatible with your country anymore!

So, where is home? I always say that I go home when I go to Sweden, but I also go home when I return to Brussels. My Swedish home is where my family lives, and home in Brussels (not for much longer) is where I have my things, my apartment, my job, and a lot of my friends (and a boyfriend until recently). I feel happy when I come back to Sweden, a warm feeling of nostalgia and belonging, at the same time as I sometimes feel as a total stranger when I don’t understand why everybody wears leggings under their skirts, why everybody loves Timbuktu, why everybody watches Ernst on TV or why everybody eats GI-food… 

When returning to Brussels, I feel happy too to be back. I feel that I have conquered this place – I have made my home here; communicating in French every day and making great friends. I never thought that I would be able to work in French – now I have done that for 5 whole years. It’s a good feeling of accomplishment!

Nevertheless, now I’m leaving Belgium for another challenge and it’s exciting even if I will miss Brussels. I know that it won’t be the last challenge on my way, maybe in a year’s time I’ll be looking forward to moving to Spain, who knows!?

An Egyptian friend told me when I lived in Geneva, had just finished an unpaid internship and was desperate for any kind of job anywhere, that it doesn’t really matter where you are, as long as you have friends. Isn’t that so true? I have only twice moved with somebody: to England with my family at the age of 13 and to Italy to do a master’s with my best friend. However, I have very quickly made friends in the new places (Geneva, Linköping, Annecy, Brussels) and that has made me feel at home. They might not have become close friends that I have kept in contact with but they served a purpose (it sounds terrible but it’s true) at the time. This time I will be moving with my boyfriend, and that already makes me feel sure that I will have a home there.

Of course there have been days when I have just wanted to go home [to Sweden] and stop making all the extra efforts that you need to do in a foreign country, to be close to the support of my family and not always try to be so bloody different and independent. But, it probably wouldn’t work for too long, because I am different thanks to my experience of having lived abroad for so many years and I’m happy that I have that experience.


Actions

Information

5 responses

28 08 2007
Annika

Det här är ett ämne som på intet sätt är uttömt på bloggarna ännu. Långt därifrån. Anne väckte våra tankar när hon så klokt beskrev hur det känns.
Jag gillar vad du skriver här!!!! Speciellt att det känns så tryggt att komma hem, man vet vad som väntar, det är kul att få höra alla sommarplågor på radio, och roligt att sedan få få och nynna på dom själv. Det ä så roligt att se trenderna! Att se folket! Men sen??? Man befinner sig återigen i Ingenmansland.
Jag känner för Washington som du känner för Bryssel, man har skapat sig ett LIV här. Ett bra liv, ett fungerande och trivsamt liv.
Jag undrar också hur det skulle kännas att flytta hem för gott. Förmodligen mkt svårare än man kan föreställa sig. Har ju en del vänner som har gjort den resan, och många har efter flera är ännu inte “landat” i Sverige. Svårt, svårt…
TACK för ett mkt bra inlägg! Det här är VERKLIGEN mycket, mycket intressant!!

28 08 2007
Anne

Jättebra inlägg och mycket mycket träffsäkert beskrivet och intressant!
Tack för bra inlägg som har hög igenkänningsfaktor.
Just nu känner jag mig rätt tom på fylliga och långa kommentarer, har tänkt mycket på det här det senaste dygnet så hjärnan börjar bli trött…. Men ämnet är ju ständigt aktuellt på nåt sätt och kommer väl mer eller mindre alltid vara det.

28 08 2007
desvon

Många kloka ord här också. Dessto längre tid man bor utomlands dessto mer bygger man upp ett liv där och dessto längre kommer man bort från sitt tidigare liv i Sverige. Vet inte riktigt vart den osynliga tidsgränsen för detta går någonstanns och jag antar att det varierar en del från person till person också. Jag trivs bra här och gillar USA som sagt men jag känner att USA är så långt bort. Det känns trist att bara kunna åka till Sverige max en gång per år, att bara kunna träffa sin familj en eller två gånger per år. USA är också väldigt annorlunda jämfört med europa. Sedan jag flyttade hit har jag insett att jag är en europé, så har jag aldrig tidigare sett på mig själv men här gör jag det. Min mamma lämnade ju sitt land för många många år sedan för Sverige. Jag kan ju inte säga att jag känner att jag har några band till Mexico eller ens säga att jag känner mig Mexikansk på något sätt. Jag har ju släkt där men vi träffas ju inte speciellt ofta. Det var ju hela 20 år sedan vi sågs sist. Jag vill inte att det ska bli så för mina evetuella framtida barn. Jag vill att de ska lära känna sina kusiner, mor och farföräldrar osv.

En annan aspekt som du tar upp är ju det där med vänner. Jag har en vän här men hon är ju också svensk. Jag har ännu inga amerikanska vänner. Visst har vi våra grannar som vi verkligen gillar och umgås med men jag känner inte att jag har tillräckligt gemensamt med någon av dessa andra grannfruar för att jag ska kunna definiera dem som vän eller vänner. Jag har ännu inte lyckats komma in i den amerikanska mentaliteten och kulturen. Kanske krävs det mer tid och mer ansträngning, vet inte.

Sedan tror jag det underlättar om man flyttar till ett ställe där åtminstonne ens man eller fru har familj och vänner. Då är det nog lättare att komma in och bygga upp ett liv där. Man har någons familj att umgås med, någons vänner att bygga upp nya vänner kring och en av parterna i förhållandet känner till landet, kulturen och alla de där osynliga koderna.

Frågan om vart man ska bo är jävligt svår. Ibland kanske man inte ska fundera så mycket utan gå på vad som känns rätt för stunden. Oj nu blev nog detta inlägg väldans långt.

29 08 2007
petchie

Jättekul att ni alla tre gillade mina tankar om hem/hemma. Har ni tänkt på att på franska/italienska/spanska finns det inget ord för hem – det är ordet för hus man använder. Jag tror att ordet hem är väldigt speciellt för nordeuropeiska språk.

Annika: att återvända hem skulle nog vara svårt, det skulle vara svårt att anpassa sig tillbaka till det svenska sättet att leva på – inte för att det är fel utan för att man inte är van vid det längre.

Anne: kul att du känner igen dig i vad jag har skrivit. Jag förstår att du kände dig lite tom i skallen efter att ha skrivit ditt jättefina och tänkvärda inlägg på din egen blogg.

Desiree: roligt med långt och intressant inlägg. Du har rätt i att man ska nog inte fundera så mycket, iaf i början, på vad man ska göra “resten av sitt liv”, det faller nog på plats till slut var man ska hamna. Eller så är det som med “vad man ska bli när man blir stor”… det blir kanske inte alltid vad man hade tänkt sig men det blir bra ändå. Jag tror nog att jag också kommer känna mig väldigt mycket europée när jag flyttar till andra sidan Atlanten, att flytta inom Europa är FAKTISKT inte så svårt – avstånden är inte så stora, mycket är likt, annat är inte så likt men det är lättare att hantera kanske (när man kan åka hem över en helg…).

3 09 2007
Mehdi

Very interesting post. My company’s HR manager would call what you describe as the “expat trap”. Cécile Lalie and I just came back from a whole month off in France. Totally exhausted from all the moving around the country, the family lunches, dinners with friends and the busy schedule of the expat back “home”..actually we felt so releived when we got back in our house in Dubai. Lalie was so happy to play with her toys and sleep in her real bed, even she looked more relaxed than during the endless car trips across france. Even though I travel back to Paris at least once a quarter and see my pals quite often, I get what you say when you talk about the feeling of not really fitting in anymore. It’s a bit scary knowing we might have to move back, especially when you’ve been in a permanently sunny country living in a large house with a big garden not so far away from a beach and where life is really much cheaper than in Paris. And the funny part is that the expat virus seems to be contagious : my in-laws are buying an apartment in Dubai to spend most of their retirement there…they say they are fed up with “old” france and want to come to the “new world” of dubai..not sure whether that’s good news or not, one of the advantages of expatriation is that apart from the unfrequent visits, the in-laws are kept far away. Anyway, one day, I might have to go back home. Where ? Not sure yet.

_

Leave a Reply

