A Belgian blog and stupid things to do on a Wednesday…

19 09 2007

My Belgian/Flemish friend S is moving to Sweden next year – and he has started a blog!! Check out his blog for future experiences of a Belgian in Sweden…  (in English and sometimes in Flemish – if you are Swedish, you will understand more than you think!) It will be really interesting to hear how he and his girlfriend I will find life in Sweden…

So far, their impressions from their relocation trip in August include:

  • All the girls are wearing so-called leggings under their skirts/dresses… [no comments…]
  • It’s not so much more expensive than Belgium [I guess that they don’t mean the beer!?]
  • The weather is great [do we dare to tell them that they might have been lucky?]
  • Nacka seems like a nice place to live [I’m no expert in the different areas of Stockholm so I can’t really tell them otherwise]
  • They are convinced that they will like Stockholm and are looking forward to getting a summer cottage somewhere in Sweden
  • Squash seems to be a national sport
  • I has to change her name as it is a man’s name in Sweden – she’s planning to add an R to make it more feminin!! Fortunately S has a very Swedish sounding name…

Stupid things today:

  • I managed to pay 9 EUR too much in regional tax this year – I got confused when paying the bill and paid 98 instead of 89… not a big deal but it annoys me!! You know, the principle of it all… [I managed to pay the right amount for O’s tax, I’m in charge of paying his bills in Europe, and he will pay my bills in PR ;-)]
  • I discovered today that I have resigned from the 15th October and not the 16th October… not a big deal either, except that I had taken the 15th October off as it is a Monday! Not so clever to take a day off when you are no longer working. I have now cancelled it and taken Friday the 12th off, so Thursday the 11th will be my last day working at the European Commission!

Actions

Information

9 responses

20 09 2007
bryssling

I love leggings under my skirt! Guess that defines my nationality then…
Have bloggrolled the belgian guy now as well.

20 09 2007
bryssling

Forgot to say that Nacka IS nice and the weather is mostly great in the summer. But sguash, a national sport in Sweden!?
Mwoa ha ha ha…

20 09 2007
bryssling

Sguash? Of course not!
Not squash either😉

20 09 2007
Petra H

The weather is mostly great in the summer… except for the summer of 2007…

I saw THREE girls with leggings on Monday in the Woluwe shopping centre – apparently the fashion has finally arrived to Brussels!! [I still refuse to wear them ;-)]

20 09 2007
Millan

Ah din italien weekend later helt suveran! Tjejhelger kan man aldrig fa for mycket av. Saledes ska jag aka pa just en sadan till London i helgen😀.
En av mina narmsta vanner har ar for ovrigt fran Milan. Hon ar dock inte sa fortjust i staden och vill hellre att vi aker nagon annanstans om vi aker dit. Vi vill garna aka sa jag hoppas det blir av snart!

20 09 2007
desvon

Ja det ska bli kul att höra vad din vän har att säga om Sverige då de flyttar dit. Roligt att läsa deras observationer hittills. Japp leggings verkade vara hur stort som helst denna sommar. Hade på mig det här igår och amerikanarna tycker nog det är lite konstigt och lustigt mode. You look so Swedish fick jag höra.

Nacka är trevligt ställe kan du hälsa din vän.

20 09 2007
Annika

Kul läsning!!!!
Leggings ja…He, he…Nu har jag nog svalt hela betet. Var på GAP igår och köpte en massa klänningar/tunikor och leggings. Jag har börjat VÅGA nu! Skönare plagg finns ju inte, men jag inser att jag har blivit HJÄRNTVÄTTAD, fniss!
Nacka ÄR ett trevligt ställe att bo på!
Squash…Ehh..not!
Ja, och sen får vi väl hoppas att det där med sommarstugan går i uppfyllelse också.
Ska bli kul att höra vad han tycker sen när han bor i Sthlm! Verkligen!

21 09 2007
Petra H

Millan, det är inte många som är förtjusta i Milano, min italienska kollega har bott där och förstod inte alls varför vi ville åka dit! Men, min kompis och jag tyckte iaf att det var trevligt!

Desiree, jag blev ganska paff när jag såg tre tjejer med leggings i måndags för det modet har inte riktigt kommit hit än. Överhuvudtaget är inte Bryssel en särskilt moderiktig stad – det märker jag när jag kommer hem till Sverige och alla är så coola.

Annika, men om det finns leggings på GAP så innebär det ju att det är modernt även i USA! Belgarna tyckte att Nacka var jättefint och det verkar vara lättare att hitta ett litet hus att hyra och de är beredda att betala typ 1000 EUR i månaden… Dessutom tycker de inte att huspriserna är så fasligt dyra!

19 09 2008
tibor

du är välkommen till enskede hallen i stockholm
mvh
tibor

Leave a Reply

