Autumn weekend in Copenhagen – without passing Strøget once*

23 10 2007

For the last 7 years I have never been home to Skåne without passing by Copenhagen to visit my friend Å (and Danish L who moved to Nepal and then Uganda this year). Our best friend L who lives in Stockholm also tries to come down for girls’ weekends when I am around. We went to school together and the three of us have remained friends ever since. We have all lived abroad several times, but we always make sure to meet up a few times a year – this year is the first time we won’t meet up in our hometown for Christmas as I won’t be coming home from Puerto Rico. However, we have managed to meet up 3 times already in 2007, first in Stockholm in April, then in Copenhagen in August and once again this past weekend.

Our girls’ weekends have become a little less exclusive since 2006 as Å’s adorable son H is nowadays usually joining us. L and I call ourselves aunties as Å doesn’t have any sisters, and we really enjoy seeing him as often as possible.

On Friday L and I met up at Copenhagen airport and took the metro straight to Å’s cosy apartment in Frederiksberg, a nice neighbourhood in west Copenhagen. She was waiting for us with a steaming ossobuco (recipe from Under valnötsträdet by Anna & Fanny Bergenström), and a bottle of nice wine, while we brought lots of Swedish lösgodis (sweets bought by weight in Sweden are just the best, ask our Danish friend L – she loves coming to Sweden to buy sweets!) and a bag of Polly chocolate. We stayed up late talking about the latest changes in our lives, the recent gossip about people from school (usually not very juicy as we haven’t stayed in touch with that many people) etc. O called me and asked if we were chatting like crazy – he knows how we are together, as Å & L came to visit us in Brussels last year for five days…

Saturday morning H woke his mother up quite early but they decided to let us sleep a little longer… The breakfast was long and yummy with homemade rolls (frukostfrallor med frön, recept från Under valnötsträdet) before we headed to the Designer Forum.  

The forum was held in Forum, a big hall for concerts and fairs in Copenhagen. The queue to get in was long as was the line to withdraw money from the ATM, but eventually we got in – the place was buzzing with people (mostly women, wonder why!?) looking at cheap clothes at the different stands – all the cool brands were represented, such as Tiger of Sweden, Camper (Spanish shoe brand that I don’t like at all [a bit too rubbery for my taste] but it is very popular in France and Belgium), Minus (apparently a well known brand, or at least L knew it from Stockholm) and Modström. I didn’t buy anything because of the simple reason that I am not allowing myself to shop autumn / winter clothes just before moving to the Caribbean. However, I enjoyed looking at all the stylish Danes – they really have a special style, completely different from the Swedish way of dressing. Danes are more bohemian, more chic in a laid back manner while Swedes very often look identical and mainstream… I don’t know how to explain it in a good way.

I sometimes think of Swedish vs Danish fashion like Swedish vs Danish furniture/home design: Sweden has brought the world H&M and Ikea – what I call design for the people while the Danes make more exclusive stuff such as PH lamps, Georg Jensen and Day Birger & Mikkelsen for example [ok, so Vero Moda and Ilva are also Danish companies and more mainstream but I am trying to prove a point here!].

Lunch was eaten on the “French” street, Vaernedamsvej where you find the Prince Henrik’s school which is the French school in Copenhagen (the husband of the Danish queen is French), you also find a restaurant called Les trois cochons, and the café where we chose to eat crêpes – Café Viggo (Viggo is the Danish name for the French opps, I mean Belgian cartoon character Gaston Lagaffe). [There is also a green grocer’s called King Kong Frugt & grønt but that’s another story]

After the long shopping and the cold lunch (why can’t people understand that they should CLOSE the door when entering/leaving a café in the colder season??), we decided to spend the evening at home in Å’s place. We laughed at H’s excitement while watching the Teletubbies (and his mother’s despair that her son has such bad taste in tv-shows!) and we tried to eat our sweets without him noticing… Thai take-away for dinner and watched the silly movies Alfie and How to lose a guy in 10 days (H was fascinated by the snogging scenes, which made us laugh so much – he sat really still and just stared at Jude Law making out with various women, as well as Kate Hudson and Matthew McConaughey kissing!).

We started Sunday very much like Saturday, long breakfast with homemade rolls (Å is a great baker!) and then we went for a nice walk in Frederiksberg in the sunshine while discussing if your personality is dictated by if you are the oldest/middle/youngest child in the family… Our conclusion was yes, Å and I are perfect examples of big sisters who need to always be right, bossy and dominating, while L is the neutral, younger sister who is used to compromising and never fights (she’s an angel😉 which is a good thing as Å & I are known to have terrible fights, it’s been a while since the last one though).

I finally managed to buy something on Sunday afternoon; a little silk pouch for my new iPod in a Chinese shop and some rice in the King Kong Frugt og grønt – not because I needed rice but because I liked the textile bag that the rice came in (I gave the rice to my parents). We had a nice fika in the cosy Meyers deli on Gamle Kongevej before we had to head to the airport for L’s flight back to Stockholm and my train back to Skåne.

All in all a perfect girls’ weekend in Copenhagen, once again.

*) Strøget is a pedestrian shopping street in central Copenhagen and it is quite an accomplishment not to pass it as most Swedes only see the Central station – Tivoli – Strøget – Nyhavn (the New harbour with lots of bars) on their trips to Denmark’s capital!


Actions

Information

12 responses

23 10 2007
desvon

Vilken otroligt mysig tjejhelg ni verkar ha haft. Jag har dock full förståelse för att du inte köpte några höst eller vinterkläder, det hade verkligen varit onödigt. Kul att ni håller kontakten väl och lyckas träffas flera gånger per år.

24 10 2007
Kicki

Hej! Vilken mysig helg ni verkar ha haft! Jag hade en liknande helg för ett år sedan med mina tjejkompisar ute på landet. Vi var 8 tjejer som promenerade, bastade, badade i havet (kallt i oktober!), lagade god mat och drack en massa vin. Det blev ett spännande avslut med sanning och konsekvens framåt småtimmarna.
Ha det bra! Häsningar från Kicki i Sydney

24 10 2007
petchie

Desiree, det var en sådan härlig helg med tjejkompisarna, vi tog det bara lugnt och snackade.
Det irriterar mig att jag lyckats skicka mina vinterkläder till PR, så jag köpte iaf en varm halsduk och vantar i måndags men det är ju onödigt att köpa mer.

Kicki, visst är det så kul att umgås med tjejkompisarna – jag har även ett annat tjejkompisgäng på 5 tjejer som alltid träffas ngn gång om året, de senaste åren har det blivit i januari. I år var vi i Venedig (vi pluggade tillsammans där) och förra året på Mön i Danmark. Så mysigt! Killarna brukar bli lite avis..

25 10 2007
saltistjejen

Låter som en supermysig helg med dina tjejkompisar! Precis sådant man kan sakna när man bor långt ifrån varandra. I december när jag ska till Sverige ska jag bla träffa några av mina bästa vänner från universitetstiden och vi har bokat in en “slottsweekend”. Det ska verkligen bli jättemysigt!!!!

25 10 2007
Anne

Åh, vilken underbar tjejhelg. Du fick mig att längta efter nåt liknande med mina gamla barndomsvänner. Ett stråk av saknad for genom mig nu…Förresten, Under Valnötsträdet är riktigt bra (köpte den i Sverige i somras) kanske borde testa de där receptena ni ätit under helgen.

25 10 2007
Anne-Marie

Det låter som en toppenhelg i goda vänners lag. Det var länge sedan jag gjorde något sådant. De jag känner i Sverige bor så utspridda nu att det är svårt att träffas på ett enkelt sätt.

25 10 2007
petchie

Saltistjejen, en slotts-weekend låter ju hur mysigt som helst! Jag hoppas att ni får det bra, hoppas att det finns en öppen spis där ni kura med lite vin och snack.

Anne, jag ville inte göra dig avundsjuk, jag hoppas att du kan få träffa dina barndomsvänner snart igen. Förresten, det står en bil från Åland parkerad i vår gata, varje gång jag går förbi så tänker jag på dig (det är första gången jag ser en bil med Åländska registreringsskyltar!).
Jag har också Under valnötsträdet men har inte hunnit laga något ur den, men imorgon har jag lovat att göra Ossobuco (samma som Å hade gjort åt oss förra fredagen) här hemma när vi ska ha gäster. Det var verkligen ett gott recept.

Anne-Marie, det är alltid svårt att hinna träffa alla vänner när man är hemma en kort tid. Mina bästa vänner hemifrån bor ju som sagt i Kph och Sthlm plus min bästa killkompis som bor i Oslo men vi brukar iaf ses till jul när alla är hemma och hälsar på familjerna.

25 10 2007
Annika

URMYSIG helg!!! Låter riktigt perfekt. Vad skönt att ni fick till det allihopa så att ni kunde ses!!!
Så härligt att ha sådana tjejkompisar. hoppas dom kan resa och hälsa på dig i PR sen också!

Tycker att du har helt rätt när du beskriver svensk vs. dansk design—Absolut!
Måste förresten ha varit jättekul att se allt…

25 10 2007
petchie

Japp, det var en urmysig helg Annika! Det är så kul att när vi lyckas pricka in en helg tillsammans, L har pojkvän i Frankrike och är där nästan 2 ggr i månaden så det gäller att boka i förväg. Jag hoppas också att de kan komma och hälsa på i PR, de har lovat att försöka göra det.
Vad kul att du också tycker som jag när det gäller dansk design – och det märks även på danska hem, mina danska kompisar har mycket mer “exklusiv” design även om de också har vissa Ikea komplement. Det är väl något de får med modersmjölken medan vi är uppvuxna med Ikea…

26 10 2007
Millan

Later som en kanonhelg!! Jag har bara varit i Kopenhamn 2 ganger men gillade det verkligen! Jag haller helt med dig vad galler dansk vs svensk desig och mode. Jag alskar danska klader och manga av mina favoritmarken ar darifran!!

26 10 2007
petchie

Millan, det var verkligen en kanonhelg, skönt att bara umgås och snacka.
Köpenhamn är verkligen en jättemysig stad, och det finns så mycket att shoppa! Som jag skrev i min kommentar ovan så är det intressant att se att danskarna inreder sina hem mycket mer stilrent än vi svenskar – de lägger gärna nga tusenlappar på en designad stol än köper fyra på Ikea, även om de är studenter. Det är väldigt avskalat och minimalistiskt i danska hem – jag skulle aldrig själv kunna leva så (I am a material girl…) men det är fint!

15 11 2007
Intercultural or intralinguistic (??) communication « Petchie’s adventures

[…] I had a girls’ evening planned with my dear friends Å and L, not the same L as last visit to Copenhagen, this time it was Danish L who this year has managed to live in both Nepal and Uganda – she was […]

Leave a Reply

