Was it my imagination?

30 11 2007

Yesterday afternoon I was watching tv (I am already hooked to HGTV, the interior design channel – it is very addictive🙂 ), and the guests were getting ready for the mall, Plaza las Américas the biggest mall in the Caribbean and even one of the largest ones in southeastern US. All of a sudden I felt a tremor, and it seemed like the building was shaking, the big mirror leaning against the wall was making a shaking noise – was I about to faint, was it just my imagination or was it really an earthquake?? I just sat there in the sofa wondering to myself when I felt it again – yes, definitely an earthquake!

I shouted to E and M to see if they had felt it… Yes, E had felt it sitting by the computer and came running to show me that the curtains were waving back and forth… M who was standing up hadn’t felt a thing. Strange, isn’t it? It’s not the first time that I feel an earthquake, once in Italy and once in Belgium I felt small quakes – lying down.. And both times people who were standing up didn’t seem to notice them!?

I called O, he had not noticed anything in Caguas where he works (in the centre of the island). I tried to talk to the janitor downstairs in the lobby, saying that the terra muova* (the ground is moving in Italian??), but he did not understand anything of my very broken Spanish, so we decided that it was probably ok. We relaxed, a little shaken but not stirred😉 There is a tsunami evacuation sign at the beginning of our street indicating that you should leave the coast and go to higher ground in case of a tsunami / earthquake but I think that there are sirens that will go off in case of such a situation.

The rest of the afternoon was spent shopping at Plaza and we didn’t even think about our experience until we met up with B, our Swedish friend here in PR and she said that her boss had felt the earthquake as well and apparently it was 7.4 on the Richter scale, however somewhere close to Martinique – which is halfway to Venezuela from here! You can read more about the earthquake in this article.

*) it is called terremoto in both Spanish & Italian, I looked it up for future reference…


Actions

Information

8 responses

30 11 2007
saltistjejen

Wow!
Jag har aldrig någonsin känt jordskalv eller jordbävningar. Måste kännas väldigt främmande när man inte är van. Och lite läskigt, men också “häftigt” så länge det inte är fråga om någon fara.

30 11 2007
Anne

Läskigt (men lite häftigt också, som Saltis säger, så länge det är ok och man inte blir rädd “på riktigt”). Jag har aldrig varit med om nån jordbävning, det känns jättesvårt föreställa sig att marken under ens fötter inte är stabil, har hört att jordbävningar även kan ha ett väldigt högt ljud (lite morrande sådär). Har du nån uppfattning hur vanligt det är med jordbävningar/jordskalv på Puerto Rico?
Förresten, HGTV är beroendeframkallande….😉 Har du sett House Hunters? De väljer typ alltid det huset jag inte skulle ta…

1 12 2007
Annika

Jag tror inte heller att jag har känt ngn jordbävning, tror inte det. Men vissa nätter har jag tyckt känna min skaka lite-lite-lite…så vem vet?
NU vet du åtminstone hur det känns.
Och ja, HGTV blir man lätt besatt av. Speciellt av House Hunters, iallafall blir jag det…
Ha en fin helg!!

1 12 2007
Katia

Salut Petra,

trop fort,tu as même eu droit au tremblement de terre…je ne sais pas quelle était la magnitude à Puerto Rico mais j’ai lu qu’en Guadeloupe il a atteint les 7,3! Je vois que tu t’amuses…hihihi!
Gros bisous,
Katia

1 12 2007
petchie

Saltis, det är en konstig känsla att uppleva ett svagt jordskalv/bävning eftersom man först inte vet om det är som man inbillar sig, allt bara skakar svagt (nästan som om man skulle svimma). De förra gångerna låg jag ner och det kändes jättekonstigt, speciellt som ingen annan kände det. Gardinerna svajade lätt fram och tillbaka men eftersom jag inte fick det bekräftat av ngn annan förrän senare (via radio och tidningar) så trodde jag att det var inbillning!

Anne, jag hörde inget ljud förutom den stora spegeln som darrade lite (jag är så nervös för de två speglarna i vår lägenhet, de är bara lutade mot väggen och jag är orolig att de bara kommer att braka i golvet en vacker dag (jag har redan tagit sönder tillräckligt med speglar i mitt liv)).
Jag vet faktiskt inte hur vanliga jordbävningar är i PR, läste att detta var det kraftigaste på 65 år i hela Karibien!! Men, de är absolut vanligare än i Sverige, det är säkert – annars skulle vi ju inte ha skyltar om tsunami-evakuering etc. Det har väl Oregon också vid kusten, kommer ihåg att du hade sett en sådan.

1 12 2007
petchie

Annika (och Anne), HGTV är ju VERKLIGEN beroendeframkallande – förutom förmiddagsprogrammen för det är för mycket pyssel för mig och tycker inte att det brukar bli så snyggt, men resten är ju så kul att se.
Jo, efter tre jordbävningar, även om de lyckligtvis har varit väldigt svaga, så kan jag väl se mig som “jordbävningsexpert”, ha ha. Men jag är nöjd nu, behöver inte uppleva nga “big ones”…

1 12 2007
petchie

Katia,
oui, j’ai eu droit à un tremblement de terre – mais je sera contente si c’était le dernier🙂 Tu te souviens le tremblement en Belgique en 2002?
Mes visiteurs étaient un peu choqués mais ca fait un beau souvenir de leurs vacances aux Caraïbes!?
Bisous!

13 10 2008
Adventurous holidays « Petchie’s adventures

[…] British Virgin Islands, magnitude 6.1, 155 km from San Juan! I definitely felt it stronger than the last earthquake, which occurred the first week I was in Puerto Rico last year, but fortunately we haven’t […]

Leave a Reply

