Packing for two coasts and three seasons…

25 02 2008

Just finished my packing – it wasn’t easy even if I got some “practise” yesterday when I helped O do his luggage (he left for New Jersey this afternoon). Packing for a two-week trip isn’t that difficult under normal circumstances but this time I will experience THREE seasons during the journey…
Hortensias, Keukenhof, The NetherlandsThe photos of the spring flowers were taken in Keukenhof, the Netherlands in March 2007 when I went on a weekend-trip to Amsterdam with French C and Swedish M. We had two great, sunny days walking around A’dam and visiting the famous Keukenhof gardens outside the city – the flower bed arrangements are amazing!

WINTER: I am spending two days on the east coast, including one full day in New York City on Wednesday, meeting two fellow Swedish bloggers. The weather forecast promises “100% probability of snow” and between +4 and -7 degrees, not ideal for walking around a city… so I need my winter jacket, a scarf and a thick sweater (a bright pink one, for once I will actually have a tan while wearing a winter sweater!). I decided not to take a pair of boots, they will take up too much space in my luggage for the next two weeks so fingers crossed that my feet will stay warm and dry in normal shoes…

Tulips in Keukenhof, The NetherlandsPink tulips

SPRING: In California it is spring, and San Francisco should have between 8-16 degrees at the end of the week. I have been told that SF can be quite chilly and rainy so I’m bringing an umbrella!
Hyacints, Keukenhof, The NetherlandsBlue hyacinths

SUMMER: We are driving down to Mexico next week where O’s Mexican friend is eagerly awaiting us to show us around his country (or at least as much as we can see in 3 days!). At the moment Tijuana has around around 25 degrees, i.e summer! I have packed a skirt and my sunglasses  8)
Keukenhof, The NetherlandsHm, help me – what are these flowers called?

I am leaving tomorrow afternoon after my Spanish lesson, flying via Atlanta and not arriving until late to Newark, NJ. We are staying at a Marriott hotel (courtesy of O’s company as he’s there on a business trip) and there’s wireless internet so I’ll be able to update the blog – bringing the laptop, of course! I have also packed my bikini as there is an indoor pool at the hotel and I’ll be spending part of Thursday there while O works in the morning. Our plane leaves for San Francisco at 17.00.


Actions

Information

11 responses

26 02 2008
Jess

En three season trip är inte illa!!
Jag kan förstå om det är svårt att packa inför en sådan resa.:)
Jag är en sån som packar så lite jag kan men ändå alltid har för mycket, konstigt nog.
Jag hoppas att du får en helt underbar resa och ser framemot alla bilderna från de olika årstiderna och platserna som ni ska besöka.
Och blommorna i Amsterdam skulle jag vilja se.Kanske man kan åka över någon helg eftersom det är “nära” oss.

Ha det bäst!
Kram!

26 02 2008
Millan

Ha det harligt i Amerikat!! Kram

26 02 2008
petchie

Jess, det är inte ofta man får uppleva så många årstider på så kort tid😉 Dessutom är det väldigt varmt och fuktigt i SJ idag, så jag kommer inte att ha vinterjackan på mig på väg till flygplatsen…
Tack, jag lovar att rapportera från resan!
Amsterdam är ett perfekt weekend-resmål, speciellt under våren tycker jag. Vi tog tåget från Bryssel förra våren, tar 3h. Keukenhof är öppet ca 2 månader om året just under vårblommesäsongen och det är verkligen jättefint att se (även om det är LITE pensionärsvarning på att åka dit😉 ).
Kram!

26 02 2008
petchie

Millan, tack! Jag rapporterar på torsdag om bloggträffen med Saltis och Petra!

26 02 2008
Desiree

Vad kul med resan. Men som du säger blir det inte helt lätt att packa. Man vill ju inte ta med sig hur mycket som helst heller men sedan vill man ju inte frysa. Ha det riktigt bra på resan. Jättefina blombilder du lagt upp också, verkligen vårvackert.

26 02 2008
saltistjejen

Ja du, det blir till att ta med både varma kläder OCH sommarkläder. Hm, det är inte så ofta man behöver packa för flera säsonger…

Ska bli så roligt att ses! Tänk att det är imorgon!🙂
Jag går runt hela vintrarna i sneekers (om det inte är snöstorm) så du kommer säkert att klara dig bra med “vanliga” skor bara det inte är flip-flops…!

See you soooon!!!

26 02 2008
Annika

Önskar dig en lycklig resa!!! Och så ser jag fram emot bloggrapporter från dig. Är jätteavis på er som ska ses imorrn! Hoppas ni får det jätte, jättekul!
Kallt i VA, regn och ngra plusgrader. Inte trevligt!

28 02 2008
petchie

Desiree, så himla typiskt att mitt bagage kom bort igår ngnstans mellan San Juan – Atlanta – Newark så min rosa ylletröja, extravantarna, etc kom inte till användning😦 . Resväskan stod på hotellrummet dock ikväll när jag kom tillbaka från NYC, och jag som köpt nya trosor på H&M😉
Jag tänkte på dig när jag lade upp blombilderna – de är nog bland de finaste foton som jag någonsin tagit, de var väldigt tacksamma motiv med den färgprakten!

Saltis, det gick ju bra med vanliga “lågskor” och Os tröja på axlarna idag! Tur att det inte snöade iaf! Jättekul att ses och hoppas att det blir fler bloggträffar. Vi borde organisera ngt med alla de andra tjejerna också – de var ju så avis på oss🙂

Annika, det kommer rapport imorgon! Petra och jag pratade om dig idag, du borde verkligen ha kommit upp – hur lång tid tar det för dig med tåg? Next time…
Solen sken idag, en perfekt vinterdag i NYC!

3 04 2008
Friday theme / Show & tell: Spring flowers « Petchie’s adventures

[…] have already published some photos of spring flowers in an old post – those photos were taken in Dutch Keukenhof, a spring flower park which is only open a few months […]

16 06 2008
Travel fever and packing anguish… « Petchie’s adventures

[…] once again I am struggling with packing – just like when I was going to the US in February / March. This time I only have to pack for one season… however, a European summer can mean […]

18 04 2009
A Spanish treasure hunt « Petchie’s adventures

[…] get in the Caribbean! I wrote a spring flower post last year and here is another one with lots and lots of spring flowers from the Dutch Keukenhof flower […]

Leave a Reply

