30th April / Walpurgis Night: the biggest student party of the year

30 04 2008

SILLFRUKOST (Herring breakfast)

Come and join us for the traditional start of Siste April/Valborg/30th April: Breakfast with pickled herring (sill) and snaps before we continue the party in Stadsparken with a picnic!

Time: 10 o’clock (drop in between 10-11)

Bring: bread, sill & snaps and picnic-lunch including drinks

Useful info: try to do your shopping at Systembolaget* BEFORE everybody else, i.e before Friday…

We will finish the day with a barbeque in the evening, hopefully in the park opposite Petra’s place if the weather permits – otherwise the barbeques will be placed on the balcony… (if you happen to have a barbeque lying around, bring it in the evening!!).

WELCOME!

Kram P & Å

I just found the above email while looking for some photos for my 30th April post – unfortunately I couldn’t find any photographic evidence (as this was before the era of digital cameras)… The email was sent to our “mentees” – Å and I were mentors for some international students at Lund University in the spring semester 2000 (as well as the previous years) (a friend of ours called them our “men-team”, ha ha!). We had a great 30th April celebration that year, and also the year after when we managed to gather more than 20 of our master’s friends in Sweden to show how Swedish students party! Oh the nostalgia…

So, what is the 30th April about? Well, for non-students it is Walpurgis Night or simply bonfire night – towns and villages arrange bonfires** and choirs sing spring songs to celebrate that spring has [hopefully] arrived. Most Swedish adults will have dinner with friends after the bonfire while the teenagers are getting drunk with their friends… However, for the students, at least at the old university towns of Uppsala and Lund, will have been partying since the morning. Most professors will make sure to not schedule any lectures or exams on this day as nobody would show up anyway…

The different universities have their own traditions but in Lund the following schedule for the Last of April (as the date is called there) is followed:

Morning: The herring breakfast (see above email) at somebody’s home – including snaps and pickled herring! The master’s students had their breakfast in Copenhagen 2001 and were given Gammeldansk (Danish aquavit) to start the day before they took the train to Lund…

Midday: Picnic in the park. The international students have all been impressed by the magnitude of the party in the park – EVERYBODY is there, or so it seems… Some take naps on the grass before heading to the next event… and some people bring old sofas to sit on! Today there were up to 15 000 students in the park, probably thanks to the sunny weather – check out some photos in the local newspaper! Unfortunately the party in the park is costing the municipality lots of money every year in cleaning up costs and there are always discussions on how to convince the students to bring home all their garbage (and to not step in the flower beds…).

The same newspaper interviewed some drunk students last year… Quite silly but the film shows the atmosphere in the park…

Afternoon: Games between the student nations (associations) (I never attended these games) and / or so-called champagne gallops at the different student nations – usually live bands are playing and people buy bottles of sparkling wine and dance… it is one of the craziest parties I have ever attended! (You have to buy tickets for the champagne gallop way in advance and they are always sold out the same day they are released) Canadian C took some great photos of the party in 2000 but unfortunately I don’t have them on the computer.

Evening: BBQ at somebody’s home (the student nations also have special parties) – after a long day most people are quite tired and the evening events are a bit calmer… Sometimes people play the Swedish version of softball – brännboll, if they have the energy. In 1999 our French friend M added a French touch to the BBQ with some foie gras, and in 2000 my brother lost his bike, but that’s another story😉

The next day, 1st May is a public holiday in Sweden and most European countries as it is the international Labour Day. Political demonstrations are organised in all Swedish towns.

However, in Lund the students gather at the main university building in the afternoon to see the student choir (male, former students) greet the spring with traditional songs (more or less the same that the choirs sing at the bonfires the night before). The event was shown live on national TV for over 30 years but was discontinued a few years ago. Nowadays the local TV4 Öresund shows the event. The big question is always – is the university magnolia in bloom? And according to media reports the magnolia blossoms should look just perfect for tomorrow’s big spring greeting!

Magnolia in bloomOne of my favourite photos (again) – a magnolia in California!

I would love to be in Lund tomorrow for the choir event, but I am definitely too old and not a student anymore to enjoy the wild parties that took place today. But hey, I can still be nostalgic…😀

*) Systembolaget is the state owned chain that sells alcohol in Sweden (the so-called alcohol monopoly) … There are always huge queues before big holidays and special events such as Midsummer’s eve, Christmas, New Year’s, 30th April etc.

**) 30th April is traditionally the last day before the summer that you are allowed to make fires without a special permit (for example to burn garden waste).


Actions

Information

14 responses

30 04 2008
Saltistjejen

Jag gissar att du som gammal Lundastudent har klart mycker mer Valborgstradition än jag. Firade två Valborg i Uppsala när jag var student och det var skoj. Men någon jättefirare av valborg har jag nog aldrig varit. Sedan jag var liten och tyckte det var urkul att grilla korv i elden då förstås…🙂

30 04 2008
petchie

Ja, det blev några Valborgs / Siste April-firanden i Lund genom åren men jag var faktiskt min första Valborg som student i Uppsala – första och enda gången jag har besökt den universitetsstaden! Även sista gången som jag hade studentmössan på mig. Det var många som kommenterade att min mössa såg konstig ut… det är lundamodellen som ser lite annorlunda ut än den visst mest vanliga i övriga landet (vad den nu kan heta – Uppsala-modellen kanske?).
Oj, nu gjorde du mig sugen på att grilla korv😉

30 04 2008
Desiree

Åh suck du får mig verkligen att längta hem. Väldigt bra och trevlig beskrivning av Valborg. Det verkar som det är Lund och Uppsala som det firas som mest och störst. Din inbjudan som du hittade fick mig verkligen att känna – ja jag kommer jättegärna med min sill och min snaps. Jag har faktiskt inte varit med om någon sillfrukost. I stockholm verkar det inte firas alls lika mycket som i Lund. Jag förstår att denna dag väcker många fina nostalgiska minnen för dig.

1 05 2008
Marianne

Ja, du har verkligen en Valborgstradition värd namnet. Själv bodde jag aldrig i Lund även om jag pluggade där, så jag var aldrig med på den här sortens firande. Men jag förstår att du blir nostalgisk.

Föreslår en grillkväll med goda vänner i kväll!

1 05 2008
Annika

Förstår att det bli så annorlunda när man verkligen varit student i ngn av de stora studentstäderna (det har ju inte jag). Då får Valborg en helt annan klang och innebörd.
Måste ha varit jättekul att få vara med om!

Hoppas du hade en fin dag igår!
Såg att en viss Sunny kommenterat (såg din kommentar hos Anne)…MÅSTE leta upp kommentaren nu. SÅ himla kul att hon sett din blogg! HÄFTIGT!!

1 05 2008
Lullun

Nå, är nog inte helt enig i att firandet är störst i Lund och Uppsala, då Göteborgs firande ju är enormt, eftersom det inte bara är studenterna & ungdommarna som fyller stadens gator och parker, utan gemene man.🙂

Fast det är klart, i Gbg blev det ju inte så mycket sill (om någon??) och intresset för sångerna & mössorna var begränsat till en mindre grupp. Men Cortègen, ja den lockar årligen cirka en kvarts miljon personer ut i vårluften! *hihi*

Ska erkännas; jag har inga andra Valborgstraditioner. Har aldrig ens sett ett Valborgsbål, och tror även jag är för gammal för att åka till Lunda och testa studentfirandet. Men kul läsning i alla fall! *hihi*🙂

1 05 2008
petchie

Desiree, kul att du ville komma men du var 8 år försent ute😉 Det var en mycket lyckad sillfrukost även om två fransk-canadensare kom med bakelser – de hade nog inte riktigt fattat vad sill var, ha ha!!
När jag pluggade i Lkpg var det inte heller en jättestor grej med Valborg och jag var faktiskt aldrig där och firade (tror det brukade vara picknick i parken som heter Trädgårdsföreningen), utan åkte till Uppsala första året och sedan till Lund andra året.

Marianne, jag har faktiskt också några dåliga minnen från olika Valborgsfiranden, men har valt att inte tänka på mycket på dem. För det mesta var det en jättekul dag att fira med alla vänner, precis en månad innan terminen tar slut!
Jag önskar att vi kunde grilla någonstans men balkongen är så liten.. jag får hålla mig tills jag kommer hem till Sverige i sommar.

1 05 2008
petchie

Annika, Valborg är ju verkligen den största festen för studenterna på året, iaf i Lund! En fransk kompis till mig pluggade i Lund när jag var i Italien och han klagade alltid på det skånska [vinter]vädret till mig och sa att alla bara pratade om våren “vänta bara tills våren kommer” – han fattade ingenting, tills det blev VÅR på riktigt, Valborg och solen sken – DÅ fattade han äntligen vad alla pratade om!!!

Lullun, det visste jag faktiskt inte att Gbg också har ett stort Valborgsfirande – där ser man!! Jag hade inte ens hört talas om Chalmerskortegen förrän jag såg dig nämna den på din blogg!
Nä, jag tror att vi alla är för gamla för Valborgsfirandet i Lund nu… men det är kul att tänka tillbaka på minnena!

1 05 2008
Anki

Jag saknar litegrann körerna man hör på Valborg och 1:a Maj. Men som sagt – festandet går det bra utan, även om det är kul att minnas hur det var!
Hoppas att ni haft en härlig första maj!

2 05 2008
Millan

Studenterna i lund vet verkligen hur man ska fira Valborg!! I vaxjo kan jag inte alls komma ihag att vi firade sa dar jatte mycket.. eller firade gjorde vi val men det handlade nog mer om att vi gick ut precis som vi gjrode varje vecka (manga ganger… ;-)). I Karlskrona dar jag bodde i flera ar firade man valborg lite grann men annu viktigare var dar att fira Gokotta den 12 Maj. Da traffade man alltid sina kompisar och campade nagonstans eftersom tanken var att man skulle sitta uppe och lyssna pa goken… Ja nu blev jag ocksa lite nostalgisk.

2 05 2008
petchie

Anki, det var just det jag satt och saknade igår – körerna som sjunger in våren. TV4 Öresund skulle direktsända det, men inte visades vårsången på internet😦 Och det finns inget på youtube från Studentsångarna i Lund (iaf vad jag kunde hitta).
1 maj var ju inget speciellt här, O jobbade som vanligt – till hans brors stora förvåning, jag fick förklara på spanska via skype (chatt, inte snack, puh!) att amerikanerna ju inte kan fira den “kommunistiska” arbetardagen utan har en egen Labour day i september (1:a är det väl?). (är de inte fåniga, ha ha)

Millan, det är nog de äldre lärosäten som har de här speciella traditionerna – jag menar, vem skulle frivilligt få för sig att äta sill och dricka snaps till frukost?? Om det nu inte är tradition😉
Jag har faktiskt aldrig hört talas om att just den 12 maj skulle vara gökottedagen! Jag har nog inte varit på gökotta sedan min mammas farmor gick bort (1980??) men kommer ihåg hur mysigt jag tyckte det var – vi hade gökotta ibland under sommaren, åkte till Brösarps backar. Ett härligt sommarminne… Ha ha, nu är vi alla nostalgiska – det måste vara något med våren!

25 05 2008
1st Blog Anniversary & 200th Blog Post! « Petchie’s adventures

[…] 3 blog posts are: 30th April / Walpurgis night: the biggest student party of the year (30th April 2008), Semana Santa – Easter celebrations in Spain (19th March 200 and The risks of […]

24 10 2008
Friday theme: If I were a time traveller, I would… « Petchie’s adventures

[…] a very loose concept which was more social than academic! I have already written about our 30th April celebration that year, but the whole spring semester was […]

5 05 2009
A Tuesday mix « Petchie’s adventures

[…] Theme / Show & tell since I felt that I had already said all I had to say about Walpurgis Night / 30th April / 1st May last year. However, this weekend I was working on a photobook (MyPublisher, just like Annika in […]

Leave a Reply

