Challenge: your book on page 123?

4 06 2008

Marianne in Cairo had the following challenge on her blog:
Take the closest book to where you are, open page 123 and copy the 6th, 7th and 8th sentences…

I had the Lonely Planet for Puerto Rico next to me but as I didn’t want to make an ad for a surf shop in Luquillo, I took the other PR guidebook – Let’s Go* and this is what I found:

A pigeon-hater’s worst nightmare and many a child’s greatest dream, Parque de las Palomas (Pigeon Park) is crawling with this urban bird. If you’re into that sort of thing, buy some bird food from the vendor in the corner ($0.50) and soon birds will be crawling all over you, too. If you’ve seen Alfred Hitchcock’s movie The Birds a few too many times, skip directly to the Capilla del Santo Cristo, the tiny chapel next to the park.

Well, I have actually seen the film The Birds, and it is definitely scary and as I don’t like pigeons (flying rats), I will check out the chapel instead of the park next time I am in the Old San Juan…

I also have my recipebook next to me since I copied the crumble recipe for Miri yesterday (see comment No 9 in yesterday’s post), so let’s see what page 123 says in that book (is this turning into a food blog?? I’ll copy the full recipe for you):

Salmon & spinach quiche with goat’s cheese (my note: made it for the first time in Brussels for my grandmother and aunt, 16th June 2003**)

Pie crust:
2 decilitres flour
1 pinch salt
100 g butter
a little water if the crust is too dry

Mix together with a fork and put in an ovenproof pie / quiche dish.

Filling:
1 yellow onion – chopped
150 grams spinach – cut in smaller pieces, (I always do it with a pair of scissors)
200 grams smoked salmon
1 decilitre goat’s cheese in crumbles

Fry the onion and spinach lightly before mixing with the other ingredients.

Egg mix:
4 eggs
2,5 decilitres milk
1 pinch salt and some pepper
1 lemon – juice + grated peel

Pour over the filling once it has been added onto the pie crust.

I usually pre-bake the pie crust for about 5 minutes before I add the filling and egg mix. Bake in the oven (175 degrees Celsius / 325 degrees fahrenheit) for approx. 30-40 minutes. Serve with a green salad.

My recipe book is a simple notebook that my grandmother (second day in a row I write about my grandmother!) and my aunt gave me in 1988 when they were visiting us in England. They had written down their best recipes for me and then I have continued filling the book with recipes from friends, magazines and TV programmes… The first recipe in the book is my grandmother’s pancake recipe, which I usually make several times a month; then follow recipes for cream buns (vaniljbullar), breakfast rolls, Drömmar, Klenätter (Swedish biscuits that are impossible to translate to English), boiled cod (my favourite dish when I was a child) and my aunt’s tasty BBQ sauce etc. maybe I’ll share some more recipes another time😀

What does it say in your book on page 123?

*) It was not a coincidence that I had guidebooks next to my computer, I am always looking up things for the blog or just out of curiosity… And I am planning an excursion this weekend to celebrate O’s and my 3rd anniversary!

**) Yes, just like I write notes in my guidebooks of when I visited a certain place, I note down in my recipebooks when I have tried the recipe…


Actions

Information

15 responses

4 06 2008
Anna

Jag har faktiskt gjort denna förut, eller liknande, men hittade inte den igår när jag länkade till tidigare inlägg om böcker. Det måste vara ett av de inlägg som jag inte hunnit sätta etikett på.

4 06 2008
petchie

Anna, det är ganska många bloggare som redan har gjort något liknande. Det är alltid irriterande när man inte hittar ett inlägg, jag ändrade om i mina etiketter för nga veckor sedan och är inte säker på att alla inlägg är rätt nu…

5 06 2008
Mary T

Sounds yum! I want to try but… what’s a decilitre…? We don’t use that, can you tell me the equivilant in mililitres or pints?

5 06 2008
petchie

Mary T, I knew that but forgot – one decilitre is 100 mililitres or 1/10 litre😉

5 06 2008
Annika

Har sett det där på lite olika bloggar…Själv kan jag inte vara med , iallafall inte just nu. Sitter på Starbucks och skriver efter att ett enormt och våldsamt oväder helt slagit ut all bredband i området.
Tack, Starbucks, nu kommer jag åtminstone ut på min dagliga bloggrunda.

5 06 2008
petchie

Annika, jag tyckte att det var en lite rolig utmaning – men det gäller ju att man har en bok i närheten, vilket du antagligen inte hade på Starbucks… Hoppas att internet kommer tillbaka snart för er🙂

5 06 2008
aurorabuddha

Lax, spenat och getost… det dar later gott! Jag ska prova det dar receptet nagon gang – fast vi har ju inte sarskilt fantastisk lax har i SA. Fisk over huvud taget ar trakig har.

Jag har handskrivna recept efter min mamma! Det ar ju sa kul att ha kvar och hon hade sa vacker handstil, skrev lite sirligt, sadar.

Sa snallt av din grandmother and aunt att ge dig sina basta recept! Du kan ju skicka dom dar vidare sen…

6 06 2008
Petra

Här är min 123:e sida. Gisa bok! =)

“Oj, nu måste jag avbryta en liten stund för enligt SCHEMAT måste jag väcka T och ge honom mat. Går det att vara både väldigt anal och cool? John och Estelle såg så otroligt softa och avslappnade ut att man kunde tro att dom tagit ut sina kvarvarande föräldrardagar, hyrt ut lägenheten och just tillbringat tre månader på Mallis”.

6 06 2008
petchie

Aurorabuddha, om ni inte har jättegod rökt lax så kanske den blir godare av att tillagas i en paj än att ätas som den är… Pajen är jättegod! Vi har faktiskt inte heller så rolig fisk trots att vi bor på en ö, en av livets stora mysterium😕
Visst är det kul att ha handsskrivna recept, mormor gav mig för några år sedan ett av min farmors gamla recept som hon hade gett min mormor – mormor tyckte att det skulle vara roligare för mig att ha originalet så hon hade kopierat det till sig själv. Så nu har jag både farmors och mormors recept i min receptbok😀 (det var alltså mormor och moster som gav mig receptboken, det är ju inte så lätt att veta med de engelska namnen på släktingarna!) Det blir nog fler receptinlägg så småningom…

Petra, hi hi, den var klurig – det låter som en svensk chick lit-bok men vilken har jag ingen aning om!

6 06 2008
Petra

9 1/2 månad av Annika Lantz. Bitvist hysteriska roligt, skratta högt-bok alltså. =)

6 06 2008
petchie

Ok, tack för boktipset, ska kolla upp boken när jag fyller på bokförrådet i Sverige😀

7 06 2008
Marianne

Nähä, där ser man, jag kommenterade aldrig här! Men jag tänkte det, vet inte vad som hände. Den där pajen låter jättegod, jag ska spara den. Kul idé förresten, jag ska nappa på det och slå upp sidan 123 i en bra kokbok och ge det receptet!

9 06 2008
petchie

Marianne, ha ha, det är ingen fara! Jag gjorde ju samma miss på ditt bokside-inlägg😀 Läste och länkade men kommenterade inte! Gillade verkligen ditt recept på squashplättar, ska göra så fort jag har köpt squash (har bara aubergine hemma för tillfället).

11 06 2008
Football and a Wednesday recipe for Banana pancakes « Petchie’s adventures

[…] speaking of brunch, here’s another Wednesday recipe – last week I shared a spinach & salmon quiche recipe and today I wanted to give a tip about what to do with those bananas that are just too ripe and […]

11 06 2008
Minerva

Ok, the book next to me is Affluenza by John de Graaf et al. But page 123 has only a title of part two: Causes and no sentences, so I turn the page and sentence 6,7,8 and 9 are: Now that you’ve been introduced to affluenza and its multiple symptoms, you may be asking yourself how we got to where we are today. What was the genesis of affluenza? Is it a bug that’s always been there, just part of a human nature? Is it culturally conditioned?”

Leave a Reply

