Friday theme / Show & tell: 5 o’clock

20 06 2008

Victoria in Florida is still chosing the themes for the month of June and this week it is simply 5 o’clock. I had been thinking of showing a photo here of what we will be up to at 5 o’clock today, which is the most important party event of the year for Swedes – Midsummer’s eve. Maybe it would have been a picture of people jumping around pretending to be frogs (a traditional dance and song about the little frogs) or throwing logs of wood around (it is a game called Kubb). However, it might be a little over-ambitious, and not very social to be blogging in the middle of the party, so I chose to prepare this post earlier in the week…

Five o’clock – I did a google search and it turns out that there is a Five o’clock club – which is some kind of networking group, it is also used to describe beard growth visible late in the day on a man whose face was clean-shaven in the morning (a five o’clock shadow).

In Swedish the search for “Klockan fem” gave me “Mord klockan fem” – a murder mystery by Agatha Christie, which I have actually read! In English the title is Hickory dickory dock – from the nursery rhyme with the same name, which I learnt when we lived in England and I always liked it;

Hickory dickory dock,
the mouse ran up the clock
the clock struck one,
the mouse ran down
Hickory dickory dock

In the Swedish translation the clock strucks five (Klockan slog fem, musen sprang hem) so we are back to today’s theme!!

17.00

My computer still has the European (CET*) time, which is very practical when I am communicating with family and friends. Because time telling becomes so much more important when you live in a different time zone than family and friends – it is necessary to keep track of the time difference so that you don’t call people in the middle of the night… and people always ask me what time we have here in Puerto Rico when I talk to them. It is easy, we are in the same time zone as New York, i.e -6 hours! However, during the European winter time, it is only -5 hours as Puerto Rico doesn’t have daylight saving.

Five o'clock CET

Five o’clock in Europe is only 11 o’clock here in Puerto Rico!

Oh, and one last thought on time keeping – why can’t all countries adhere to the 24 hour-clock (see photo of my computer above)?? It would be so much easier! Especially for people, like me who can never remember which is pm and which is am… It annoys me that it is impossible to re-programme our digital clocks here in Puerto Rico (micro-wave, oven, alarm clock) to show for example 17.00 instead of 5.00.

Have a great weekend, I am at the moment enjoying Midsummer’s Eve in the new summerhouse, together with my family and best friends. Hopefully I will be able to log in soon to tell you all about it! In the meanwhile, my foreign readers can read about Midsummer’s eve celebrations in my post from last year.

The non-organic may pole, Midsummer's Eve 2006
The non-organic may pole from Midsummer’s Eve in Brussels in 2006. I have been told that the pole will be recycled this year, this time outdoors! O will be very proud, as it was his idea and creation! (read more about how he made it in the linked post above).

 

*) CET = Central European Time


Actions

Information

10 responses

20 06 2008
Marianne

Toppentolkning! Jag hade riktiga problem, och tillsammans med jordens huvudvärk blev det inte mycket till inlägg. Ditt var däremot riktigt intressant. Att googla slog mig inte ens.

Ha nu en riktigt mysig midsommar i nya sommarhuset!

20 06 2008
Fritt ur hjärtat

Vilken bra tolkning!!! Urtjusigt, jag är imponerad. Säger som Marianne, det var lite svårt, kändes lite krystat mitt eget…

20 06 2008
Annika

ÅH där är du!!
Jag hoppas att resan gick fin-fint och att du inte plågas av för mkt jetlag!
KUL tolkning på temat, vad kul att du googlade det hela…
HOPPAS att du har en riktigt fin Midsommar, och jag ser fram emot rapport från nya sommarhuset…
NJUT!!
KRAM!!

20 06 2008
Anki

Kul att läsa om din klockan 5! Ha en jättehärlig midsommar, och den där majstången var riktigt snygg!

Och jag håller med dig om det där med 24-timmars visning på klockan. Jag har också lite svårt med pm och am!

Ha det gott!

21 06 2008
leopardia

själv missade jag helt att ta några foton klockan fem… och jag har oxå svårt för att hålla koll på pm och am… men vad snyggt jag tyckte det var med två klockor, om jag flyttar utomlands så är det något att ta med sig, den idén. så enkelt, men så snyggt.

21 06 2008
Lullun

Hoppas firandet igår blev lyckat! Och riktigt bra tolkning på veckans tema!!🙂

22 06 2008
petchie

Marianne, tack för att du gillade min tolkning.. jag ska försöka gå in och kolla på allas fredagsteman idag (försöker få föräldrarna att åka och köpa glass så jag får bloggro, tihi!). Hoppas att huvudvärken försvunnit!

Simone, det blev en blandning av lite och varje tyckte jag i min tolkning men jag är nyfiken på vad ni andra har skrivit / fotograferat.

Annika, ja alltså mitt fredagstema skrevs redan i måndags… jag har nämligen också klurat ut hur man ska programmera inläggen för att publiceras senare!
Midsommarinlägg kommer, kanske idag, kanske imorgon😉 KRAM!

22 06 2008
petchie

Anki, mina kompisar brukar reta mig för att jag inte kan komma ihåg am och pm, det är ju egentligen kanske inte så svårt.. Men det är ngn slags mentalblockering, jag vill ha 24-timmars klockan helt klart!
Vi var alla mycket imponerade över Os idé om midsommarstång, och min kompis M gjorde fina pappersblommor enligt Os instruktioner! Roligt dessutom att den kan återanvändas😀

Leopardia, när man för en gångs skull faktiskt av helt praktiska skäl kan sätta upp två klockor så tyckte vi att vi skulle passa på – dessutom ser det ju lite coolt ut😉

Lullun, nu ska jag kolla in ditt inlägg och skriva kommentar på det senaste inlägget om de tråkigt nyheterna.

22 06 2008
Anna

Jag har inte hunnit med fredagstemat ännu för jag har varit borta över helgen. Men ska väl få till något snart…

Smart att du har kvar europeisk tid också, särskilt när du bloggar för många här.

Glad midsommar i efterskott! Ser fram emot att höra mer om din sommar i Svedala!

23 06 2008
petchie

Anna, det verkar vara ganska många som skippade fredagstemat den här gången – det var ju trots allt midsommar…
Det är ganska praktiskt att ha europeisk tid på datorn eftersom jag ju som du säger ofta kommunicerar på olika sätt (blogg, skype, email) med folk som befinner sig här i old Europe🙂

Leave a Reply

