Wednesday recipe: Tuna steak with broccoli, spinach & sun-dried tomatoes

22 10 2008

Today is one of those strange days when it is bright and sunny early in the morning, then it starts to rain for a while and when thunder can be heard from afar, the rain has stopped. I can hear the waves from the ocean and am quite tempted to open the windows…

Waves of the Atlantic Ocean

However, I won’t open any window since we don’t have mosquito nets and I was told last weekend that there is an increased amount of dengue-spreading mosquitoes at the moment due to all the rain. Our Irish and Belgian visitors had their bedroom window open when they were here and we have never had so many mosquito bites from our home before! I can understand them though, my first instinct when I arrived in November last year and felt the heat in the apartment was to open the windows – until I realised that it doesn’t really help! Actually the more you keep the windows open, the more humidity comes into the apartment, and unfortunately the AC is the best thing that gives you a little bit of coolness. At the moment I am only using the AC in the bedroom, to keep the humidity away from our clothes…

Here is a recipe that I haven’t made in a while (since we haven’t had tuna, but I am sure that salmon would be great too):

Tuna Steak with broccoli, spinach & sun-dried tomatoes
1 piece of fresh tuna steak
Frozen or fresh broccoli and spinach
Sundried tomatoes
Cream,
Olive oil,
1 lemon,
Parsley (as it is my own recipe I don’t have any measurements, so just improvise!)

Fry the tuna steak in olive oil – we like it quite well-done even if I know that most tuna-connoisseurs would be horrified!
Boil the broccoli and spinach for a few minutes, drain the water and add the sun-dried tomatoes with a little cream (just a few table-spoons), lemon peel and juice.
Serve with rice cooked with onion, lemon peel and decorated with parsley.
Just another super easy recipe!

View from El Morro on Old San Juan
Photo from last week’s visit to El Morro, one of the old fortresses in Old San Juan


Actions

Information

12 responses

22 10 2008
Desiree

Mums, lät verkligen kanongott. Det här ska jag ta och prova så snart jag bara kan. Ja var försiktig med myggen speciellt om de kan ha Dengue. Det verkar inte vara något vidare trevligt att råka ut för. En seg och jobbig sjukdom som man kan bli rejält deckad av. Tyvärr finns ju inget vaccin eller någon vidare behandling heller om man skulle få det. Jättefina bilder på havet du tagit. Första bilden skulle du nästan kunna förstora och sätta upp som tavla på väggen. Ha en bra onsdag.

22 10 2008
Mary T

I still have one mark on my leg!

22 10 2008
Annika

Låter urgott!! Verkligen! Känner för att prova det hela!!
Och ja, AC:n är det bästa när man ska ha bukt med fukten. USCH, inte kul med myggen. TVI!!!

Myggorna här är så läskigt små och lömska också. Man känner inte ens när man blir stucken, plötsligt har man bara kliande bett…

KRAM!!!

23 10 2008
Anna

Det lät gott!

23 10 2008
petchie

Desiree, jag blev själv sugen att laga det här receptet igen!
Dengue tycker jag verkar väldigt otäckt även om folk här verkar väldigt blasé… en finsk kompis berättade att hon fått det i Afrika och var tvungen att transporteras med ambulansflyg till Paris med dubbelt dropp!!
Tack för fotokomplimangen, det är många foton som jag skulle vilja förstora upp😀

Mary T, I have some as well! I don’t know though if I am getting used to the mosquitoes but the bites don’t itch as much anymore…

Annika, roligt om du blir sugen på att laga ett onsdagsrecept😉 Jag gillar verkligen enkla recept som inte är så komplicerade och inte har så många olika ingredienser..
Det är nog samma typ av mygg som vi har, små och lömska – det är ytterst sällan som jag SER dem! De hörs ju inte heller, till skillnad från svenska mygg!

Anna, tack

Kram tjejer😀

24 10 2008
Annaluna

Mina första tre månader på Puerto Rico (the magic 3 months) var ett helvette när det gäller myggor, eftersom jag bodde i ett område med massa växter och trasiga myggnät (och AC – vad är det? hehe…) Jag var totalt uppäten och det är skönt att jag inte fick malaria eller dengue🙂 Efter de första tre månaderna var mitt blod antagligen totalt förbytt, för efter det bet de mig bara normalt, dvs från klanske 40 per dag på endast EN FOT till nån då och då…

Jag längtar tillbaka så mycket, mitt blod är med andra ord totalt puertoricanskt pga myggorna😀

24 10 2008
Annaluna

Ps. åh, grillad tonfisk…jag åt en färskfångad på vieques en gång, som några vänner fiskade upp.. Helt ljuvligt. I Sverige är det inte riktigt samma sak, men jag bara måste prova receptet!

24 10 2008
Matildas fikarum

It’s the same in Australia. When it get really hot and humid outside the best thing is to close all windows and let the aircon run for a while. Even without airconditioning, it’s better to keep the windows closed during the day, the cool air inside from the night before tends to stay quite a while, but as soon as one opens the windows it gets almost hotter inside than outdoors!

24 10 2008
Brendan

I don’t know what the fuss is about, not one single bite in the whole week! I guess the mosquitos didn’t believe that something so white could actually be human!

24 10 2008
petchie

Annaluna, jag förstår att det inte är alla förunnat i PR att ha AC eller ens kunna betala de skyhöga elräkningarna man får när man använder AC… Men myggnät måste ju ändå vara nödvändigt!! Min kropp verkar också ha vant sig vid myggen här, det kliar absolut inte lika mycket som de första månaderna och jag blir inte heller lika biten som då!
Färsk tonfisk är ju en helt annan fisk än den på burk men det är inte ofta vi äter färsk, tyvärr…

Matilda, it takes a while to get used to the fact that it is better to keep the windows CLOSED when it is hot😉 You are so right, very often it gets hotter indoors than outside – not nice at all!

Brendan, you are very lucky and for the record, you were not THAT pale in the end of the holidays😉 O used to not get bitten but even he has mosquito bites now! BTW, thanks for the comment!😀

25 10 2008
Anne

Mums, det låter jättegott. Jag gillar verkligen tonfisk, föredrar den också well done. Det låter enkelt och med ingredienser jag tycker om, så det här blir nog ytterligare ett recept jag kommer att testa!
….ingen kronärtskocka att behöva utesluta heller😉

27 10 2008
petchie

Anne, skönt att höra att du också är en well done tonfisk-tjej – folk brukar ju bli helt förskräckta när man berättar hur man föredrar sin fisk tillagad😉
Ha ha, jag visste inte hur många recept jag hade med kronärtskockor förrän jag började publicera dem på onsdagarna och blev medveten om alla ni som inte gillar dem!!

Leave a Reply

