Wednesday recipe: Grandmother’s pancakes in 2 ways

19 11 2008

Wednesday already again and I thought that I would continue with sharing my grandmother’s recipes: this time for pancakes! I know, most of you probably have your own favourite pancake recipe but then just skip the recipe and go directly to the serving suggestions.

Gran's pancake recipe

My grandmother’s pancake and vanilla cream bun recipe on the first page of the recipe book that she started for me in 1988! Notice how she has been making sure to write with [almost] just capital letters so that I could read her handwriting – as a child I could never read her old-fashioned cursive script!

Grandmother’s pancakes
2 eggs
3 decilitres (i.e 300 ml or 3/10th of a litre) flour
6 decilitres milk
a pinch of salt
butter

Whisk the ingredients together and start frying the pancakes in some butter. I usually use two frying pans to speed up the process, and using a measuring-cup (one decilitre) to pour the pancake batter into the pans – in that way you always get more or less the same sized pancakes!
Why not use whole wheat flour? O bought the “wrong” flour by mistake the other day and really, the pancakes tasted just as good and maybe were a little healthier?!

Serving suggestions
Serve the pancakes the normal way with jam, maple syrup, sugar and lemon juice, whipped cream, fresh fruit or maybe some Nutella (O’s favourite)… or make savoury pancakes, i.e crêpes, which fit perfectly if you have used darker flour!

Tip: Actually, the pancake recipe is just enough for two people (at least for O and I) to first have a weekend pancake brunch and then have crêpes as dinner on Monday evening!
You need the following ingredients:

  • a few slices of ham (smoked, cooked or dried – we actually used some Spanish jamón)
  • cheese in thin slices – we used a very tasty hard goat’s cheese with herbs
  • mushrooms – cut in quarters if small, otherwise smaller pieces
  • onion – chopped
  • fresh spinach – a handful of leaves
  • Start by frying the chopped onion, and mushrooms in some olive oil + some salt & pepper, and add the spinach leaves after a few minutes. When the spinach has wilted, turn down the heat but keep warm under a lid. You can add some cream / sour cream if you’d like but it is also perfect as it is (we never have cream at home). Heat some butter in 1-2 frying pans and prepare the crêpes by putting a few slices of ham and cheese on every pancake, roll up and heat for ~2 minutes in the frying pans. Serve with the mushroom & spinach mix.

    Crêpes-lunch in the centre of Brussels
    Not my home-made crêpes but the ones I ate in Brussels this summer! Yummy!

    Fler onsdagsrecept hos Desiree, Marianne (om hon kommer ihåg att det är onsdag idag, hi hi) och Mia


    Actions

    Information

    11 responses

    19 11 2008
    Emmapiraya

    Fina gamla recept du har! Nu blev jag jättesugen på crepes, lunchtips till imorgon tror jag faktiskt..🙂

    19 11 2008
    Marianne

    Hahahaha, JAAA, jag kom ihåg! : D

    Det har jag aldrig tänkt på att man kan göra crèpes av överblivna pannkakor! Vad gott! Det lutar åt pannkakor och sedan crèpes till helgen.

    KRAM!

    19 11 2008
    Mia D

    Vad underbart med mormors recept! Och vad snällt av henne att skriva med stora bokstäver. :-)Jag har väldigt svårt att läsa min mormors handstil eftersom den är väldigt snirklig skrivstil, fin men svår att läsa. Pannkakor är inte dumt och med lite fantasi kan man göra underbara crèpes!

    19 11 2008
    Desiree

    Mums! Nu blev jag verkligen sugen på pannkakor. Jättebra tips om olika tillbehör att servera dem med. Det ska jag verkligen ta till vara på . Jag tänkte faktiskt fixa pannkakor imorgon tillsammans med ärtsoppa. Tänkte mig att försöka fixa till denna klassiska svenska rätt imorgon då det är torsdag. Då ska jag nog ta och severa dem med några av de tillbehör du tipsat om. Ha en riktigt bra onsdag.

    19 11 2008
    maisoui

    Åh, jag älskar verkligen sådana där gamla recept. De är oftaste de bästa! Mumma!

    19 11 2008
    Annika

    Crepes är ju supergott!! OCH pannkakor…Jösses så sällan jag gräddar pannkakor. Borde göra det…
    men ikväll blir det köttbullar från IKEA…Snajsigt va?🙂
    KRAM!!

    19 11 2008
    Anna

    Vad mysigt att hon gjort en receptbok till dig!

    3 12 2008
    Caroline

    aaah…det ar som att lasa min farmors recept….nu blev jag nostalgisk! Tack for att du kikade in pa min blogg! Allt val hoppas jag?

    4 12 2008
    petchie

    Hoppsan, här hade jag glömt att svara på era kommentarer! Bättre sent än aldrig😕

    Emma, kul att du blev sugen på crêpes – jag blev faktiskt sugen på det igen nu😀

    Marianne, jag använder nästan alltid överblivna pannkakor till crêpes och har nog aldrig använt mig av ett “riktigt” crêpes-recept…

    Mia D, visst är det synd att vår generation har så svårt att läsa den gamla fina skrivstilen – jag satt precis idag och tragglade mig igenom ett brev skrivet på franska av en äldre dam, inte lätt minsann!

    Desiree, jag har aldrig gjort ärtsoppa – eller rättare sagt tills idag, men det blev ärtsoppa på gröna ärtor, gillar dem bättre än de gula… Pannkakorna är definitivt höjdare på en traditionell torsdagsmeny!

    4 12 2008
    petchie

    Maisoui, visst är gamla hederliga recept roliga att ha! Vilket påminner mig att jag måste leta upp mormors senapssillrecept eller kanske till och med be henne skriva det igen (inte i receptboken tyvärr)!?

    Annika, ha ha, Ikeas köttbullar är goda och det vet du att både O och jag tycker😉 Vi blev ju dock inte tillsammans över köttbullslunchen på Ikea utan efter pannkaksbrunch hemma hos mig så sedan dess är pannkakor stående helgfrukost hos oss (dock inte varje helg)😀

    Visst är det Anna! Jag gillar min receptbok som ju redan har 20 år på nacken!

    Caroline, det bästa är att mormor gett mig ett handskrivet recept från min farmor som hon hade skrivit åt mormor på mjuk pepparkaka som jag har klistrat in i receptboken – så båda är representerade i den! Allt väl här, förkylningen har lagt sig och jag har mer energi än i början av veckan.

    14 01 2009
    Wedneday recipe: Klenätter or Swedish deep-fried Christmas cakes « Petchie’s adventures

    […] but I just think it looks strange with only one -t and my grandmother has spelt it with double-t in the recipebook she prepared for me. She also sometimes calls the cakes klenor instead of […]

    Leave a Reply

