Our holidays continued: New York State

18 12 2008

So, I finally sit down to write about the second part of our holidays last month: We left New York City on the Sunday after a short walk in Central Park with our luggage… took the train from Penn Station to Newark to pick up our rental car and then we were off!

Sunset over Pennsylvania
Sunset over Pennsylvania

Via Pennsylvania towards the Finger Lakes in NY – unfortunately we didn’t have time to stop for a coffee in Scranton where the Swedish blogger Anki lives since we didn’t know how the weather would be and didn’t want to stress to our destination – Ithaca. However, we didn’t even have a hotel booked so somewhere on the road we stopped at a Dunkin Donuts and had some coffee and used O’s 3G-card to check for a place to sleep. We found an cosy looking B&B; The Inn on Columbia in Ithaca, called and reserved a room and got alternative driving instructions via Owego.

Dunkin Donuts
Dunkin Donuts for coffee and B&B reservations

It started getting dark very early compared to Puerto Rico, and soon we were driving through pretty little towns and snow covered fields. It felt very idyllic, and we even saw a deer at the side of the road (which made me very nervous, don’t want them on the road..). Once in Ithaca, the B&B turned out just as we had imagined it – it was cosy, the owners very friendly and helpful and our room very comfortable. After we had checked in, we walked down to the centre of the town – it was just wonderful to walk in the cold and snow, looking at all the beautiful old wooden houses in the neighbourhood.

Owego, NY
Owego a dark November evening

To my delight we had yummy hamburgers for dinner and then headed back to the B&B where we borrowed a film from the dvd collection in the livingroom and snuggled up in bed watching it. What a cosy evening!

Diningroom in the Inn on Columbia, Ithaca
The cosy dining room at the Inn on Columbia

The next day, we were served a scrumptious breakfast with homemade bread, fresh fruits and coffee. The B&B is in a beautifully restored house and I completely fell in love with it. That is just the kind of place I dream of us having when we move to Spain!!

The Inn on Columbia, Ithaca
The Inn on Columbia

Unfortunately we didn’t have much time to enjoy Ithaca, but we walked around the Cornell campus for an hour or so, and then headed north towards Niagara between two of the [eleven] Finger Lakes. I would definitely like to come back in the warmer season as it is a beautiful area with wineyards, picturesque villages and towns and to explore the lakes of course.

A pretty white church
A pretty white church in the Finger Lakes region, NY

The rest of the drive was not as scenic, once we got on the highway again towards Buffalo. And the weather turned bad – first grey and then it started to snow! It wasn’t very enjoyable to be driving in sleet but we arrived to Niagara in one piece. Just like the day before, we had stopped on the way, logged onto internet and found ourselves a B&B, very close to the falls.

A pink tractor, Finger Lakes, NY
If I ever get a tractor, it will definitely be pink!

However, we didn’t look at the falls in the evening as O was in search of something for the camera so we drove back to Buffalo and visited Best Buy and Target! I had never been to Target and O wanted to show me how they sell the most practical travel sized toiletries for only $1 / piece… we stocked up on loads of small bottles, shaving creams, tubes of tooth paste, boxes of cotton etc (great for refilling). Guess what we had for dinner – oh yes, Buffalo wings of course!! I didn’t know that the town was the origin of the name even though, unlike Jessica Simpson, I knew that they were not made from buffalo😉

Buffalo Wings in Buffalo
Buffalo wings in Buffalo, whatelse!?

In the morning we went for a short walk to the river to look at the falls from the American side – and say hello to the cutest little seals* outside the Aquarium before heading across the border to Canada.

A cute seal
A Niagara seal

PS When I am on holidays I always try to read books from the country / place where I am going – without thinking I chose a Joyce Carol Oates book during these holidays, and how fitting; The Gravedigger’s daughter takes place all over New York State!! And it is a great read!

*) Seals have always been one of my favourite animals and compared to the huge Elephant seals we saw in California in March, these seals were small!!


Actions

Information

5 responses

18 12 2008
Anki

Ni verkar ha haft en riktigt fin tur i norra staterna. Synd att vi inte hann med att träffas. Det får bli en annan gång istället! Kanske här, kanske nån annanstans.

Toppen att få lite tips på bra B&B:s också. Vi har ju fortfarande inte varit norrut i NY state så dom ska jag ta och komma ihåg.

Förresten, har ni bestämt er för Spanien eller? Har ju inte varit så flitig att läsa bloggar den senaste tiden så jag kanske har missat detta.

kram

19 12 2008
Anna (Sthlm)

Vilket fint B&B! Jag undrade just varför ni valde Ithaca men nu förstår jag ju att det var fallen vi var på väg till! Hade glömt bort det för stunden!

Inga bilder på fallen? Jag har också varit där på vintern – det var en så häftig upplevelse! Har bilder på Facebook om du kollar i ett av mobilfotoalbumen.

Jag vill också ha en rosa traktor!

Jag antar dock att det inte finns så många amerikanska hus i Spanien om ni inte bygger ett eget förstås! Jag har också alltid velat ha ett colonial style-hus i Sverige (fast iofs har jag börjat gilla gamla vanliga svenska 20-talshus mera på sistone).

19 12 2008
Annika

Vet du, det ser nästan ut som reklambilder!! SUPERFINA!! Ert B&B ser helt underbart ut.
Vet du, Petra, jag och Peter har aldrig bott på ngt B&B. men nu är jag grymt sugen efter att ha läst detta. Desiree har ju också en massa fina B6B upplevelser!! SÅ det skall ske!

Vilken otroligt mysig resa ni hade i NY!
OJ vad det måste ha gett mersmak!

Den lille kille, Anders (pappa Allan var svenskättling, kunde dock inte ett ord svenska), jag tog hand om när jag var au-pair 1990 går idag på Cornell, hihi! Konstigt att tänka sig. När jag kom var han 9 månader!

Superfint resereportage har du gjort!

du vet, jag är oerhört svag för amerikanska colonials…Vill ha, vill ha!!

KRAM!!

19 12 2008
Desiree

Vad kul att få ta del av ytterligare en del av din resa. Jättefina bilder som alltid. Ha ha jag förstår att du tog kort på den där rosa traktorn. Det är minnsan inte varje dag som man ser just en rosa traktor. Det ser jättefint ut och jag förstår verkligen att ni skulle vilja återvända under våren eller sommaren hit. Kul att du fick chansen att gå och kolla in Target för första gången. Det är en butik som jag verkligen gillar. Där finns allt möjligt och det är ju lite mer kvalité och bättre sortiment än Walmart och andra lite mer lågpriskedjor. Kul att du testade just Buffalo Wings från Buffalo. Det är ju nästan självklart att man ska passa på att göra det.

Ha en bra helg och fjärde advent.

Kram

19 12 2008
petchie

Anki, ja det var synd att vår timing inte var bättre – men kanske en annan gång! Men nu vet jag iaf var du bor och vi passerade till och med Sandvik på motorvägen!!
Vårt B&B i Ithaca var bara så jättemysigt – jag rekommenderar verkligen det!
Nja, framtiden är mer eller mindre bestämd nu men jag återkommer snart till det ämnet😉 Men, det känns iaf lite lugnare nu och förhoppningsvis kan vi slappna av och njuta av julledigheten nästa vecka.

Anna, Ithaca låg på lagom avstånd mellan Newark och Niagara och visade ju sig vara ett urmysigt ställe. Bilder på fallen kommer i nästa inlägg, vi såg dem just mest från den canadensiska sidan. Det var urtrist väder för att se dem, grått och blött – hade vi kommit någon månader senare hade det ju antagligen varit vitt och isigt istället! Ska kolla in dina bilder på FB.
Ha ha, nej amerikanska trähus i kolonial stil vimlar det inte av i Spanien men jag menade inte bara själva huset utan kanske även ett mysigt B&B!? Vi får se vad det blir🙂

Annika, det är verkligen MYSIGT att bo på B&B men man ska ha två saker klart för sig 1) det är oftast INTE billigare än hotell 2) det är mycket mer intimnt och personligt, på både gott och ont. Vi tog in på hotell i Toronto och det var skönt att vara lite mer anonym efter två små B&B där vi var de enda gästerna. Men, jag tycker absolut att ni ska testa på B&Bs, och det första stället var bara sååååå fint.
Visst är det otroligt när man träffar på sina gamla au-pair barn som vuxna – jag är ju till och med vän med “mina” au-pair barn på facebook. Jag är precis mittemellan dem (flickorna är nu 19 & 21) och deras föräldrar i ålder så det är en konstig situation där jag är vän med båda generationerna.

Desiree, tack! Jag var väldigt nöjd att jag lyckades hinna ta foto på den rosa traktorn – tagit från bilfönstret i farten! Den lyste verkligen upp i det ganska gråa landskapet, tråkigt att vädret slog om och blev så trist eftersom även fotona blir grådaskiga då.
Jag förstår nu varför ni alla gillar Target – önskar att den affären fanns i PR istället för alla K- & Wal-marts!
Tänk, jag hade aldrig ätit buffalo wings innan!

Kram tjejer och trevlig helg!

Leave a Reply

