Wednesday recipe: Tarte au citron meringuée (Lemon meringue cake)

15 04 2009

Some of you might remember my blog post about a book I read a few months ago – Julie and Julia by Julie Powell. Well, I finally decided to try out one of the recipes from the cookbook that Julie writes about; Julia Child’s Mastering the Art of French Cooking and what better recipe to try, than my favourite French cake ever – Tarte au citron meringuée! Lemon cake seemed especially fitting for Easter – maybe because of the yellow colour?

In Julia Child’s book the cake is simply called Tarte au citron and I have actually modified the recipe so that the cake would remind me more of those great lemon cakes I have eaten in Brussels over the years… I think the best lemon cake in Brussels can be found in L’amour fou (in Ixelles), one of my favourite restaurants! Have the big club sandwich and then a huge slice of tarte au citron meringuée for dessert – according to the on-line menu it will only cost you 13,55 € for the full meal. Mmmm, I think I need to plan a visit to Brussels soon and include dinner at L’amour fou!

Lemon meringue cake
Opps, forgot to take a photo of the whole cake… but at least you can see the consistency of the cake this way!

Anyway, most of you don’t live in Brussels and will probably not visit any time soon, so here is a recipe to try at home:

Tarte au citron meringuée
Pastry base:
100 grams butter
2 decilitres flour
3 tablespoons sugar
a pinch of salt
Mix everything together and add more flour if needed. Cover the base of a greased round springform cake tin (removable bottom) with the pastry dough and make a few holes with a fork. Bake for less than 10 min in a 160 degree oven.

Lemon filling:
1 1/4 decilitre sugar
4 egg yolkes
peel of one lemon / 2 limes
3 tablespoons of lemon / lime juice
Whisk the egg yolkes and sugar together until thick and light yellow. Add lemon peel and juice. Prepare a “bain-marie” (water bath) by putting a [preferably stainless steel] bowl in a pot with simmering water, and add the egg and sugar mixture. Stir with a wooden spoon until really thick. NB Don’t let it boil or the yolkes will coagulate.
Pour the mixture into the pastry base.

Meringue:
4 egg whites
3/4 decilitres sugar
a pinch of salt
Beat the egg whites and salt until almost hard, add the sugar and continue beating until you can turn the bowl upside down without the eggs pouring out (ask the help of a strong man if you don’t have an electric whisk!!).

Pour the hard-beaten eggs carefully on top of the lemony mixture (already in the pastry base). Bake for 30 minutes. Sprinkle icing sugar on top and serve either warm or cold. The cake might sink a little when cooling but don’t worry, it will still taste great!
Enjoy!!

Easter lemon cake!

And don’t forget to look out for the film based on Julie Powell’s book – Julie & Julia, it should be coming out this year!


Actions

Information

18 responses

15 04 2009
Taina

Ojojoj vad gott det ser ut! Måste testa helt enkelt. Tack för att du skriver i deciliter😉
Kramen!

15 04 2009
Desiree

Mums mums mums. Du får mig nästan att vilja ta en tugga av min skärm här😉
Åh just citrontårta/kaka som denna är så där ljuvligt god men ändå fräsch. Jag och maränger är ju inte dirket kompisar men kanske klarar jag av denna. Får ta och testa, slurp. Ha en bra dag.

15 04 2009
utvandrare2000talet

Åh, du milde vad gott det ser ut. Jag gillar syrliga efterrätter och allt med citron. Tror aldrig jag lagat en Lemon meringue pie (vad säger man egentligen på svenska?) men däremot ätit många🙂
Får spara ditt recept och prova laga själv.

15 04 2009
mz.olsson

Lemon meringue pie?? Har jag aldrig gjort själv, men det är ju så vansinnigt gott!! Var det svårt??

15 04 2009
Caroline

Oj…det sag gott ut far jag saga! Jag bakade en gammal klassiker i sondags, “Kladdkaka”….hade namligen besok fran Boras i nagra dagar…sa jag passade pa att baka nagot gott!

16 04 2009
Mia

Ser hur gott ut som helst. Kan bli deppig när jag ser sånt här. Jag bakar aldrig! Har aldrig tid och när jag väl gör det är jag ingen Gud i köket. Jag får dåligt samvete, gifter jag mig någon gång är det bäst att han gillar färdigköpt..

17 04 2009
annaluna

DELICIOSO!!!!

17 04 2009
Emmapiraya

Oh vad gott! Det har jag aldrig ätit men det låter supergott!🙂 Kram!

18 04 2009
petchie

Taina, du kommer inte att bli besviken…😉 Naturligtvis deciliter – speciellt som jag översatt receptet från svenska, hi hi! Men när jag tänker efter så var vissa av ingredienserna i viktmått i originalreceptet. Jag brydde mig inte om att använda det lite krångliga pajdegsreceptet från boken utan använde mitt vanliga och tillsatte bara socker.

Desiree, ha ha, visst ser det gott ut! Jag kommer ihåg ditt maräng-disaster😉 Det här var faktiskt första gången som jag gjorde maräng men det var inte så svårt – tack vare Os vispande (vi har ingen el-visp). Jag hoppas att det funkar för dig med det här receptet, det är ju inte meningen att marängen ska vara vit eftersom man strör florsocker över. Buena suerte!!

Anne, citronmarängkaka?? Precis som du så älskar jag syrliga efterrätter och citron, så jag är övertygad om att du kommer att gilla den här kakan / tårtan. Även om receptet kan se långt ut så är det inga konstiga ingredienser (även om jag hade svårt att hitta CITRONER!) och det tar inte alls lång tid att göra.

Mz. Olsson, som jag skrev till Anne ovan så är det absolut inte ett komplicerat recept – så länge man får vitorna att bli fluffiga (jag fick hjälp av den starke mannen med bra vispteknik, hi hi). Och superdupergott!

18 04 2009
petchie

Caroline, jag funderade just på kladdkaka i veckan när jag bläddrade förbi mitt gamla kladdkakerecept – jag har inte gjort det på år och da’r. Kanske det är dags nu!? Trevligt med Boråsbesök, jag läste på din blogg att det var nästan hela familjen som hälsade på! Kul!

Mia, jag är egentligen mer en matlagningsperson än bagare… Och det är ytterst sällan som jag gör något med jäst i, utan bakas det så blir det kakor. Antagligen för att jag inte är någon “följa-recept-till-punkt-och-pricka” och därför är det lättare att INTE misslyckas med kakor och matlagning!

Annaluna, du anar inte hur delicioso🙂 Jag har varit så sugen att baka den igen ända sedan vi åt upp resterna i måndags… Faarligt!!

Emmapiraya, det är en klassisk fransk kaka som nästan alltid finns på efterrättsmenyn på restauranger i Frankrike och Belgien. Obeskrivligt god! Jag är inte så mycket för chokladkakor utan gillar den här syrliga och relativt lätta kakan. Mmmmm…

Kram!

20 04 2009
Mary T

Definitely going to try this – I’ve gotten braver with baking than I used to be! You have mentioned a lot of sugar, is this caster sugar or regular granulated sugar?

20 04 2009
petchie

Mary T, do you remember the cake from Brussels? It is sooo tasty!
In Sweden we don’t make the distinction between caster and granulated sugar / we only have “sugar” (we do have other sorts of sugar such as icing, brown etc of course as well) – so use what it usually used for cakes and baking!
Good luck!

21 04 2009
Tätortstimotej-Anna

Oj. Nu dog jag. Måste prova! (blev det några citronrutor förresten?)

22 04 2009
Wednesday recipe: Tuna & lime egg salad and our fridge… « Petchie’s adventures

[…] make a mojito with lemon or … can’t think of more examples since I did make the lemon meringue cake with a mix of lemon & lime. I have been experimenting with the limes though and we have ended […]

22 04 2009
petchie

Tätortstimotej-Anna, nej, det blev citronmarängtårta istället… Citronrutor får det bli den här helgen, visst måste det funka med lime!?

10 08 2009
Monday thoughts on visits, a film and cold cinemas « Petchie’s adventures

[…] film is based on -my post in January about the book (as well as the blog!) and as well as “a recipe inspired by the [cook]book that inspired the book that inspired the film“…  For once I wasn’t disappointed by the film after having read the book […]

27 04 2011
Marilin

I made this cake from your blog and for some reason I ended up with sooo little lemon filling, I would have had to have four times what I had for it to look like the one on the picture. However, the bottom was very good and I used that recipe the next time I made this cake. I have now mixed and matched different recipes to put this cake together – still using your bottom – and I love it. I also posted it on my foodblog: http://www.vanillipipar.blogspot.com. Thanks you!

28 04 2011
petchie

Thanks Marilin for your comment and feedback on the recipe. How strange that you didn’t get enough lemon filling! I will check out your recipe on your blog.

Leave a Reply

