Looking for a brewery and a canal…

4 07 2011

My mother is most probably coming to Brussels next week to keep me company while O goes to India. It makes me think of the last time my parents came to visit us, in October last year. They had one wish each, my mother wanted to see a canal and my father wanted to visit a brewery. So, we decided to take them to Affligem as we have a friend who lives nearby and it is a nice area close to Brussels (can’t remember if it has a canal though).

DSC_0293
It says “Stop the night noise!” on the posters, I guess the neighbours are tired of drunken people in the streets…

Off we went, O and my father in the front of the car, my mother and I in the back, and the GPS in the middle… We left Brussels and got on the outer ring (motorway), where I expected O to turn towards Ghent but he was following the GPS instructions and continued driving on the ring. I questioned his decision but he trusted the GPS more and didn’t want to listen to the back-seat driver. It is true that we hadn’t been in Affligem for years and maybe the GPS knew a better way!?

DSC_0299
Interesting way of displaying art – in the windows for passers-by to see instead of making it visible from inside the apartment

Eventually the machine told O to turn off the ring and head towards Antwerp, which he did while I kept saying that I thought that we were not going in the right direction. At the same time, I didn’t want to insist too much and make it into a typical husband – wife discussion (which is very, very rare that we ever have!) in front of my parents. Anyway, when we were almost in Antwerp, O finally realises that yes, maybe something was not entirely right about the GPS instructions so we stopped at the next exit where we checked the GPS settings. Apparently when he had chosen Affligem as our destination, he then clicked on “Important sights / monuments” (or something similar), and somehow changed the destination to … Antwerp!

DSC_0295
The Swedish colours!

Oh well, we were almost there by then and as there is a canal (ok, ok, it is actually a river, Schelde) in Antwerp, and my parents are very flexible, easy-going people who are just happy to spend some time with us, we all agreed to continue to Antwerp! Despite the change of plans, the lack of a brewery and the grey weather, we spent a very nice Sunday afternoon in the city. We walked along the river and then continued up in the antiques / flea market area.

DSC_0318
And even a Swedish flag! (not the same house though)

And lesson learnt [for O]? To listen to his wife and not trust the GPS 😉 However, you might recall the last time we went to Antwerp and we once again had GPS trouble?

DSC_0308
Some “fleas”

DSC_0324
Mirrors for sale

DSC_0325
Headless mannequin family, anyone?

DSC_0319
Hispantics – do they only sell hispanic antiques?

DSC_0298
What I love about Belgian cities – there is always something interesting to look at on buildings (Brussels has murals of comic strip characters)… Here a poem by a Flemish poet and singer

DSC_0315
Has anyone heard of Jürgen von der Lippe? I didn’t buy his record…

DSC_0314
Nor did I buy “One more little kissy”

DSC_0316
Plastic chairs

DSC_0313
Or wooden ones in big and small sizes

DSC_0307
There is something about empty frames that I really like

I did actually buy something from one of the flea market shops but I will show you that another time. Something that really is quite ironic considering the Belgian reputation of … being crazy drivers!


Actions

Information

12 responses

4 07 2011
saltistjejen

Sådana flea markets kan vara jätteroliga att gå på. Fast här är variationen så stor. Kan hitta allt från jättecoola saker till rent skräp! Dock handlar jag i stort sett aldrig. Vi har ju itne rum för så mycket saker haha! Men för ett par år sedan köpte jag den “tavla” vi har med en massa färgglada katter på. Och det köpet är jag glad att jag gjorde för jag gillar den!🙂
Skönt att din mamma kan komma nu så du inte behöver vara ensam nu när O åker iväg.
KRAM!

6 07 2011
petchie

Saltis, ja, det är jättekul att gå på loppisar och i Belgien har loppmarknader och loppis/antikvitetsaffärer söndagsöppet till skillnad från de flesta andra affärstyper. Man kan även köpa choklad, böcker på engelska och blommor på söndagarna, och till skillnad från när jag kom till Bryssel för 9 år sedan finns det mer än EN mataffär som har söndagsöppet!
Den katt-tavlan kommer jag ihåg från er lägenhet, inte visste jag att den var från en loppis! Jättefin! Nej, jag brukar inte heller köpa så mycket, framförallt för att vi har en EGEN loppis i Spanien (Os föräldrars hus och förråd är som ett loppis, hi hi) och allt vi har sparat från mormors hem… Men det är lockande ibland, det finns så många spännande och roliga saker🙂
Jag är jätteglad att mor kommer, biljetterna är bokade och jag har fixat så att en kompis kan möta henne på flygplatsen på söndag (O åker ungefär samtidigt till Indien).
KRAM!

4 07 2011
Anna (Sthlm)

Du tar alltid så fina och roliga bilder, på sådant jag inte tänker på att fotografera. Gillade verkligen bilden på speglarna.

6 07 2011
petchie

Anna (Sthlm), tack, vad glad jag blir!! Jag försöker att hitta nya vinklar och perspektiv när jag tar foton, inspirerad av andra bloggare och fotografer. Jag tog nog 4-5 foton på speglarna, det var svårt att få en bra, ej alltför suddig bild.

4 07 2011
Erika/Erka Perka

GPS:er kan vara ett rent gissel🙂 Kram!

6 07 2011
petchie

Erika, ja, GPS:er ska man inte lita på, men gärna på sin fru😀
Kram!!

4 07 2011
Elisabeth

Haha, jag gillar den översta bilden! Är den från Bryssel? Lite roligt i så fall att den inte är tvåspråkig.

6 07 2011
petchie

Elisabeth, visst är den härlig! Nej, alla fotona är från Antwerpen så det är därför den är på flamländska och inte på franska / tvåspråkig.

5 07 2011
Desiree

Ha ha ja GPS:en är långt ifrån något man alltid kan lita på. Jag har lärt mig att man ändå måste ha en stor portion sunt förnuft och gärna en karta också. Men visst har vi också blivit förda på villovägar av GPS:en en och annan gång. Ni fick ett annorlunda äventyr och sightseeing än planerat men ändå en skön dag. Gillade bilden på speglarna du fotat där man ser lite av bakgrunden i just speglarna. Ramar är också något jag gillar. Jürgen von der Lippe har jag verkligen inte hört talas om. Kanske någon stor berömd stjärna i Belgien då😉
Kram!

6 07 2011
petchie

Desiree, och så gäller det att man ställer in GPS rätt från början😉 En liten rolig grej, när mina föräldrar kom till Bryssel i oktober så berättade de att det hade stått något konstigt på deras GPS när de lade in deras hotells adress. Vi förstod inte riktigt vad, förrän jag kollade på GPS:en (inbyggd i bilen, en Saab) och det visade sig att det stod att hotellet låg i “Bruselas”, dvs Bryssel på SPANSKA!? Ja ja, de kom ju fram och det var ju huvudsaken men lite konstigt var det allt! (och vår GPS vill helst att man lägger in Bryssel-adresserna på flamländska istället för franska – lite förvirrning i den tvåspråkiga staden…).
Ha ha, kanske Jürgen von der Lippe var en jättestor stjärna i Belgien på.. 70- eller 80-talet?😀
Kram!

5 07 2011
bryssling

Intressant att se en byst med byst😉 , nä skojar bara. Så kul och bra att din mamma kommer och tar hand om dig när Oscar åker bort.
Sköt om dig, Kram M
PS: Nu har jag laddat ned skype, med webcam och allt😉 men jag minns inte ditt skypenamn?

6 07 2011
petchie

Bryssling, tom två byster med byst😉
Det känns så tryggt att mor kommer och tar hand om mig / håller mig sällskap när O åker iväg. Lite mor-dotter bonding innan jag själv blir förälder🙂
Jag mailar dig mitt skypenamn!
Kram!!

Leave a Reply

