Summer of 2011 list

8 09 2011

I think that it is time for a list that has been circulating on the Swedish expat blogs:

Which countries did you visit?
Only Sweden, in June. Our plans to go to Spain were cancelled due to my house arrest [as there was a risk of a premature birth].

Which date from the summer of 2011 will you always remember?
The 16th June when I started my new job contract and managed to work only half a day before being put on sick leave by my doctor!

Best buy?
Hm, I didn’t buy much as I have been at home all summer. Maybe some of the books I bought on-line?

What did you spent most money on?
Medical bills… I still have to claim them back from the insurance company.

Did something make you really happy?
Yes, that I still haven’t given birth and that our baby will not be a preemie!

How did you spend Midsummer’s Eve?
At home, on the sofa. It was just in the beginning of my sick leave and we were so worried that the baby would arrive prematurely, that I hardly dared to move around the small studio apartment that was our home.

Favourite tv-programme?
Didn’t watch much tv despite the house arrest. But I like the BBC productions of Rick Stein’s Spain (food and travelling) and Waking the dead.

Which is the best book you have read this summer?
Well, I have so far read 28 or 29 books since the 16th June and many of them were really good. The Book Thief, Just kids and The Help are three that stand out.

Is there anything that would have made your summer better?
Under the circumstances no, but of course I would have preferred being able to continue working and to have had some normal summer holidays…

The summer’s sweetest?
When we got an incredibly clear ultrasound picture of our little Sweet Pea with his eyes open, that was just so sweet!

The summer’s biggest love?
Of course the love we feel for our unborn child, and our families who have been wonderfully supportive – my parents and my sister, and O’s sister and niece who came to keep me company and take care of me and the household!

The summer’s best?
That our friends lent us their home while they went to Sweden for the summer, and that we are now able to share another apartment with some other friends until we can move back to the “summer apartment” in November. That’s what friends are for!

DSC_0832
The view over the Baltic Sea when we visited my aunt at the old summer house in June


Actions

Information

12 responses

8 09 2011
annajohanna

Tänk så annorlunda sommaren 2012 kommer att bli!🙂 Kram

9 09 2011
petchie

Jo, det får vi verkligen hoppas!! Jag ska minsann se till att det blir fler resor nästa sommar och en massa fler dagar i sommarstugan med hela familjen. Längtar!
Kram

8 09 2011
stef

Naw så mycket kärlek och lycka på din lista!🙂 Så spännande att det snart är dags för bebisen!!!🙂 kram

9 09 2011
petchie

Stef, ja, sommaren har varit helt ok trots allt. Jag har försökt att ha attityden att “den som väntar på något gott…”😉 Det är med skräckblandad förtjusning som jag ser framemot att träffa vår lille son snart!
Kram!

8 09 2011
Elisabeth

Vilket härligt foto som avslutning på inlägget! Det känns verkligen somrigt. Spännande nu med bebisen som snart kommer!

9 09 2011
petchie

Elisabeth, det är en av mina favoritutsikter på fotot! Hanöbukten och Stenshuvud i bakgrunden… Det var tur att jag hann uppleva två veckor av svensk sommar i början på juni innan jag blev sjukskriven.
Spännande och nervöst men mest spännande att babyn snart är på väg!
Kram

8 09 2011
desiree

Vad kul att du hakade på och körde denna lista också. Tycker också att fotot sist var himla fint och sommrigt.
KRam!

9 09 2011
petchie

Desiree, jag tänkte först att jag hade ju inte mycket att säga om årets sommar eftersom jag inte gjort mycket mer än legat på soffan men det blev en liten lista trots allt😉
Tack, jag älskar utsikten över Hanöbukten och Stenshuvud från den gamla sommarstugan och jag är så glad att vi hann åka dit och hälsa på min moster i sommar.
Kram

8 09 2011
Brysselkakan

Kanske ska skriva en sån lista oxå… Vi får se!

9 09 2011
petchie

Brysselkakan, ja, du har ju haft en jättefin sommar med familjesemestern i USA. Det är alltid kul att sammanfatta sommaren innan hösten börjar…
Kram

9 09 2011
saltistjejen

Å jag känner att jag får lite tårar i ögonen när jag läser om Sweet Pea och om din sommar med honom i magen.🙂 Detta kommer bli en sommar du kommer minnas för resten av ditt liv!!!!!!!
Stor KRAM!!

9 09 2011
petchie

Saltis, början på sommaren var tuff psykologiskt sett men ju längre tiden gick desto mer avslappnad blev jag (vi). Men visst kommer jag aldrig att glömma sommaren 2011 när jag var latare än någonsin och slog rekord i “innesittande”!🙂 Hoppas att jag kan bli desto mer aktiv nu i höst!
Stor kram!

Leave a Reply

