Baby advice

13 04 2012

I have now been a mother for an incredible 7 months and I thought that I should share some wisdom that I have aquired along the way. Remember, this is from my perspective with baby V. With another baby, under other circumstances, the advice might have been completely different!

  • Bring a note book to the hospital! The night after giving birth I could not sleep, high on adrenaline and I really wanted to write down my experience and thoughts… those loose pages where I jotted down my thoughts are still to be copied into my pregnancy diary!
  • Don’t focus too much on the sizes mentioned on the baby clothes that you have. They might fit much earlier than you expect, and if you save them for later, they will end up being too small and never worn (one of the things that stress me the most – the clothes that V never wore or wore once). V is at the moment wearing clothes for 9-12 month olds!
  • Wrap-around onesies, at least for the first 4 months! Don’t even try to pull something over the baby’s head in the beginning – the baby will scream, you will sweat and panic and finally give up. All those over-the-head onesies that were never used… I still believe that the hole for the head was too small on some of them (expensive and cute from Le Petit Bateau but what can you do?)
  • Make sure that the clothes are stretchy – at least in the sleeves, otherwise you will end up with the above situation (screaming baby, sweating and panicky parent)
  • T-shirts are useless for babies!! Every time you will lift / hold your baby, the t-shirt will end up in the baby’s armpits and leave the belly bare. Short-sleeved t-shirts are ok over a long-sleeved onesie, as long as it is stretchy…
  • Don’t listen to the “Sleep when the baby sleeps”-advice, it will just stress you and make you wonder when you will eat and shower!? Of course once you have managed to get a bite to eat and you are clean[er], do have a nap or two!!
  • Learn to feed the baby with one hand so that you can eat and drink (only cold drinks, in case you spill!) at the same time (at least if you have a marathon-eating baby like I did). I ended up with a massive cold around Christmas and had to learn to blow my nose with one hand too, more difficult than you might think!
  • Make sure that everything essential is within your reach before starting to feed the baby: mobile phone, water, tissues, book, remote control / computer etc. I got a negative remark from an unknown blog reader about not focusing entirely on my baby when breastfeeding but the thing was that for the first 2-3 months I was feeding baby V more or less non-stop… Nowadays I can’t do anything while feeding as V gets extremely distracted! We haven’t watched telly in the last two months, and we can hardly even talk while V is at the breast because he wants to join in the conversation!
  • Don’t be cheap; invest in a really really practical and easy-to-steer pram! We didn’t and I have used two really crappy second-hand prams that made me want to scream every time I used them! And take into account where you are going to use it: in the city / countryside, on the bus / car (once you have put a pram in the car, you don’t have space for anything else!!), snow / rain / sunshine, shopping (some prams have tiny baskets underneath for carrying stuff and nowhere to hang shopping bags) etc. And make sure the pram fits in the elevator if you live in an apartment building! I assure you, the pram can be the best or the worst investment you will make for the baby’s first year!
  • The best advice I got… to remember that the first few months will pass and things will be easier after a while! Now when I look back, I wonder how I survived at the same time as I am being nostalgic… V was so tiny and I can’t believe how fast he has grown and developed into this wonderful little person who smiles, laughs, “talks”, touches my face and grabs my hair really hard!
  • I found that reading was a good way to stay awake during the night feeds! If I didn’t read, I would fall asleep and then V would fall asleep as well and wake up hungry again after a while…
  • Listen (or read) to people’s advice but then make up your own mind. V slept in our bed until he was 4 months old when I decided to try to make him sleep in his crib next to our bed. I know that we are very lucky as he didn’t even need one night to adapt to sleeping on his own. When he wakes up at around 05-05.40, I put him in our bed and he falls right back to sleep. It’s really cosy to wake up together in the mornings but I am also grateful that he sleeps most of the night in his own bed. Only problem is that I wake up during the night and desperately look for him in our bed, thinking that I have lost him or that he has fallen on the floor!! It’s a reoccurring nightmare, which makes a bit of a change from my previous frequent nightmare of the ceiling falling down on me!
  • Let the father take care of the baby as well!! And try to refrain from criticising / correcting the way he does it! The three days V spent in the hospital in Spain in December was a great exercise for both O and I, as O spent the nights with V while I slept at home. It was the first time since V was a week old* that I slept without him and I thought that I had lost him when I woke up (see above point about V sleeping in his own crib). O realised how it is to sleep lightly and wake up every time V cries a little… I think that [most] men are programmed to sleep through the babies’ cries when they know that somebody else will get up and take care of them.
  • Life changes with a baby but your attitude defines how much! If you think that you won’t be able to do anything with your baby – travel, go to a restaurant, breastfeed in public, have a social life, then you won’t… V has been to restaurants several times (mind you, mostly during the day and not the most fancy places), I haven’t noticed any disapproving looks from people when breastfeeding [discreetly] in public (cafés, restaurants, airports and airplanes) in Sweden, Spain and Belgium, visited two museums, taken the plane 12 times and travelled by metro / bus numerous times.
  • Instead of dragging along prams, car seats etc when travelling, try to see if you can borrow the equipment at your destination. My parents’ neighbours, cousins and colleagues have lent us prams and my parents bought a second-hand car seat for less than 50 EUR on the Swedish web-site blocket.se. So much more practical to travel without all the extra stuff! Until now I have been able to carry V in the BabyBjörn when travelling with him. I actually just got another model (BabyBjörn Comfort carrier) as V is getting a bit heavy to carry without hip support. Buy the new Miracle model, which has that extra support! Also, you can buy diapers etc at your location so no need to bring more than enough for the actual travelling.
  • Another piece of advice that I got at the beginning: don’t give up on your dreams! (from the psychologist at the hospital’s neo-natal unit) I desperately wanted to breastfeed but because V had to spend his first week with a c-pap (breathing pump), he couldn’t start nursing until he was one week old. I pumped every 3 hours for a week to stimulate the milk production and then tried to start breastfeeding my baby. With the help of a thin tube (straw) that I put in his mouth he got the breastmilk from the breast and formula at the same time. It was a frustrating time and I spoke to three lactation experts, drank lots of fennel tea and continued pumping as well. At the beginning of November when V was two months old, I realised that he had lost weight, and I felt like the worst mother ever. I had starved my child!! The advice I got was to continue breastfeeding but to start giving him a bottle of formula after every feeding. All of a sudden V’s weight increased rapidly and it was so much easier to feed him by bottle than with the straw! I was (and still am) fortunate that he accepted combination feeding – breast and bottle. Most babies don’t. I am really happy that I didn’t give up on my dream of breastfeeding but I also realise that the most important thing is that the baby gets enough to eat, and he / she doesn’t care if the food comes packaged in a breast or in a bottle. Sometimes I feel that I am “cheating” with bottle-feeding but I know that it is illogical and irrational to think like that. In Sweden breastfeeding is the [only] norm and I think that a lot of women feel stressed about not being able to feed the babies in the “natural / normal” way.
  • Oh, and speaking of bottles – I spoke to some other new mothers the other day and they were shocked to hear that I don’t sterilise V’s bottles after every feed, and I don’t pre-boil the water for the formula. We were more cautious about sterilising in the beginning when he was small but my mother was told by a paediatric nurse that once the baby is a few months old you only need to boil the bottle every two days or wash it in the dish-washer. Maybe a very pragmatic Swedish attitude?😉
  • I read quite a lot before V was born, about giving birth, how to deal with a baby, the baby’s development etc but once he was here, I just did / do what I think is best. The same with giving birth, in the end we got so much support and instructions at the hospital from the midwife that I didn’t feel that missing the antenatal classes was such a big deal (scheduled for that last month of pregnancy, which I missed out on as V was born 4 weeks early). I do believe that reading made me more confident and calmer about the experience (and it made me pass the time during the summer when I was on bed rest).

Phew, that was a long list! I hope that it might help some of you out there, but remember: every baby is an individual and you will just have to find out what works for you and your little one!

V and I are off to Copenhagen this afternoon to meet up with three of my best girlfriends plus another baby, little Irish C who was born in November. We will miss our friend P No 1 and her A (born in May last year) who are not able to join us. A weekend with two baby boys; it will probably be a bit different from our previous girls’ weekends spent in Venice, the south of France, the Danish island of Møn, Brussels, and Geneva… Maybe next time we will meet in Washington DC as Irish O is moving there at the end of the month!

*) As V spent his first week in the neonatal unit. The second week in the hospital V and I slept in the same room, and the nurses actually recommended that I put him beside me in the bed when he was crying.


Actions

Information

20 responses

13 04 2012
Madeleine

Tack så mycket för jättebra tips🙂 Kan komma till användning i framtiden🙂

28 04 2012
petchie

Madeleine, tack så mycket och jag hoppas att du får användning för dem i framtiden😉 Välkommen till bloggen, som tyvärr inte är lika aktiv som jag hade hoppats på efter lille Vs födelse…

13 04 2012
nilsandsofia

Jag skriver under pa allt! Onskar att jag haft en san har lista innan barnen foddes …

Kul att hora ifran dig ocksa. Hoppas att ni har det bra!

Vad skoj det later med en tjej(och kill) weekend i helgen. Ha det toppenskoj!

kram

28 04 2012
petchie

Millan, vad kul att du tycker att listan är bra! Jag satt och filade på den ett tag innan jag publicerade den. Naturligtvis är det mycket som är väldigt individuellt för just V men jag hoppas att andra kan få användning av den trots allt.
Vi har det jättebra men det är stressigt och intensivt med heltidsjobb, amning 3 ggr om dagen och så ska man försöka hinna med sig själv också… iaf att äta och sova😉
Tjej- och lillkillhelgen i Kph var jättemysig! Vi gjorde inte så mycket, besökte en stor babyaffär och en mataffär, och sedan hängde vi hemma hos min kompis Å och hennes sambo, myste med småkillarna och åt gott.
Kram!

13 04 2012
bryssling

Bra lista på tips! Håller tummar och tår för att man får användning för den!😉 Ha en superhelg i Köpenhamn! Saknar dig och känner att det är EVIGHETER sedan vi pratade. Fattar inte var tiden och orken tar vägen!? Hoppas vi får en lång pratstund snart. Stor Kram!

28 04 2012
petchie

Bryssling, vad bra att du också tyckte att det var en bra lista – jag håller också tummarna att ni kan behöva den men ni är ju “experter” redan och behöver ju inga babyråd😉
Jaaaa, det var evigheter sedan! När kommer ni till Bryssel??? Vi får nog boka in en skypedate snarast, så du dessutom får SE lille V som är otroligt STOR (nästan 10 kg!).
Stor kram

1 05 2012
bryssling

Vi kommer i sommar! När passar det er? Längtar! Kram!

13 04 2012
Annika

Vilka kloka, fina råd du ger. Det här skulle alla nyblivna mammor behöva läsa.
DE tre första månaderna ÄR kämpiga, och jag vet att vi var många som hejade på dig! Jag har ju varit där, jag VET hur det var. Inte lätt. Men det passerar!!!
Att ha en bra barnvagn är a och o det är jag säker på. Det lönar sig att betala lite för en sådan.

IALLAFALL. du har skrivit en toppenlista som borde publiceras i en föräldratidning!!

KRAMAR och sa fint i KPH!!

28 04 2012
petchie

Annika, tackar! Visst är det mycket man borde ha vetat när man blev mamma men samtidigt så måste man ju lära sig av sina egna misstag och erfarenheter… och vad som gäller för en baby, gäller inte för en annan.
Ja, de första två-tre månaderna är ett helvete men ååååh, vad kul det blir sedan!! och så blir man trots allt lite nostalgisk över hur SMÅ de var…
Hi hi, tack för komplimangen! Ska kanske kontakta Vi Föräldrar😉
Kph var urmysigt, vi tog det extremt lugnt och bara myste allihop. Skönt när man inte har en massa måsten…
Stor kram

13 04 2012
Karlavagnen

Wow! Very comprehensive list! Too bad I am not expecting, was my first reaction after I had read your list. My sympathy as well a you have been through heaven and hell during the first months!!! BRAVA!!!! Olé (to O)! Well done to both of you!

29 04 2012
petchie

Thanks Karlavagnen! And yes, too bad that you don’t have any need for the list but maybe you could write a similar list about having a cat?? Sometimes it feels like having a baby is like having a pet… especially now when V is chewing on everything = a dog!?
Muchas gracias, it feels good that the first months are over but I wouldn’t mind doing it again😉 (and why not soon? Shhh, don’t tell my boss!)

14 04 2012
desiree

En väldigt bra lista med många kloka råd. Helt otroligt att tiden ändå går så snabbt och att lilla V redan hunnit bli hela 7 månader. Hur trivs han på dagis? Jag hoppas ni fick en skön och bra påsk i Spanien. Ha det bra, sköt om dig.
Kram!

29 04 2012
petchie

Desiree, jag hoppas att det är kloka råd🙂 Det är mycket som kan verka självklart och logiskt men jag lovar att man är inte alltid så logisk när man är mitt upp i det.
V har inte börjat på dagis ÄN, på onsdag är det första inskolningsdagen – hjälp! Hittills har vi klarat det med hjälp av mina föräldrar, min syster, Os bror och O som har tagit ledigt / jobbat hemifrån.
Stor kram!

14 04 2012
Froken Anki

Instämmer med övriga att det är en mycket bra lista! En sån skulle man haft att läsa innan lillen kom.🙂
Och jag håller med om det där med storlekarna. Finns en del kläder här också som bara användes ett fåtal gånger eller inte alls, tyvärr.

Hoppas ni har det fint i Köpenhamn, och att påsken var bra. Vad roligt att familjerna äntligen fick träffas ordentligt.
Kram

29 04 2012
petchie

Fröken Anki, vad glad jag blir att ni erfarna mammor tyckte att det var en bra lista!🙂 Det värsta med storlekarna är ju att ibland stämmer de inte alls – V fick en body som skulle vara till 9 månader som inte ens passade när han var 5 månader! Helt galet, för så stor är han inte… plagget måste ha varit felmärkt!?
Påsken var bra, intensiv och helt galen som det brukar vara i Spanien men min familj tog det med ro😉 Inklusive när min svärmor började yra om att min syster kanske var en bortbyting!!!
Kram

15 04 2012
narmasthjartat

Wow Petchie, vilken bra lista! Helt fantastisk och mycket jag skriver under på.Nästan allt. Kläder och bra vagn, t.ex

Samtidigt som du fick mig att inse att jag, enligt svenska mått, måste vara en fruktansvärd mamma när jag ammar. Jag har inte haft stora problem, med O gjorde det jätteont i början och så använde jag amningsnapp den första månaden eller vad det var men sen har jag helammat och trivts med det. Jag håller helt med att om det är problem eller vad det än kan vara så går flaskan alldeles utmärkt -jag pumpar ibland så pappan kan vara med L. O ammade jag i 1 1/2 år och L är ju inte ens 4 månader ännu. Jag ammade också hela, hela, hela tiden i början med bägge och gjorde(gör) därmed annat under tiden, helt utan skam i kroppen! Jag läste, surfade och tittade på TV. Inte alltid men ofta.Nu med andra bebisen är det kanske ännu mer så eftersom jag ofta läser för storasystern under tiden. Och med andra barnet är man (iaf jag) lite mer avslappnad Det är ju omöjligt att lägga allt fokus på den lille. Och sen halvsov(er) jag dessutom också oftast på nätterna! Mina bebisar ammade alltid till de blev nöjda ändå.Tur, inser jag, när jag läser detta.

Tilläggas bör att de här perioderna ändå har varit tuffa! Det är INTE lätt att ha bebis. Trots att jag haft tur på många vis. De sover, äter och inte prematura, ändå är det tufft.

Till mig sa de f.ö i SVERIGE att jag inte bara inte behövde utan inte BORDE sterilisera allt varje gång.

Visst går det att resa och gå ut och äta (som sagt inget fancy) T.o.m med två små. Det är bara lite annorlunda…

Tack igen för fantastisk lista.

15 04 2012
narmasthjartat

P.S jag helammade alltså det första halvåret INTE i 1 1/2 år som det lät som…nu helammar jag lillen.

29 04 2012
petchie

Emma, jag tackar så ödmjukast att du tycker att listan är bra – du som är “supermorsan” med två småttingar under 3 år! Jag känner mig som en amatör i jämförelse, hi hi.
Vad skönt att höra att du också gör annat under amningen!! Nuförtiden kan jag knappt ens läsa en bok för V är sååå lättdistraherad sedan nga månader tillbaka och vill gärna vara med och bläddra i boken / tidningen… Både O och jag tror att han blir en “läsare” som alla är i min familj (i den spanska familjen läser de inte alls😦 ).
Exakt, det är inte bra att sterilisera allt – jag försöker slå ett slag för “lite skit rensar magen” både här och i Spanien men det går väl lika bra som det där med att “småbarn sover utomhus mitt i vintern i Sverige”😕
Stor kram!
PS Ha ha, jo, jag fattade att du inte hade helammat i 1½ år. Jag är så glad över att V faktiskt accepterade bröst + nappflaska och gör det fortfarande!

16 04 2012
utvandrare2000talet

Jättebra lista, så roligt läsa och med det mesta nickar jag igenkännande och instämmande. När man har mer distans och perspektiv kan man se klarare och tydligare på erfarenheterna (som hur orkade man med just det eller det, eller den och den grejen borde man ha haft).
Sen undrar man ju nyfiket hur ens erfarenheter skulle bli med ett annat barn, det som varit jobbigt nu skulle kanske vara lätt då osv.
Alla sa mig att köp många omlottbodysar, visst var de sköna men jag gillade dem aldrig riktigt. Jag tyckte det var knöligare dra på en sån då Stella föredrog få saker över huvudet än att man lyfte henne på ryggen och knölade på den vägen. Hon har krånglat och kinkat med mycket🙂 Men just det där med att dra saker över huvudet var aldrig nån grej.

Men visst är det så, allt det där man läst och sugit åt sig inte följs utan sen gör man det man i en verklig situation känner för, tror på, märker funkar osv. Men som du säger, jag tror att man ändå blir lugnare, självsäkrare av att vara påläst så nån funktion fyllde det väl ändå.
Sen tycker jag också att det jag kanske hade principer om innan, starkt kände att “så här gör man” det insåg jag när barnet väl var här att jag inte alls kände så, den principen flög snabbt ut genom fönstret (t.ex. att barnet direkt skulle sova själv, vi körde ju samsovning istället).

Jag tycker att hela första året handlar om att hitta sitt sätt att vara förälder på, lära känna sitt barn osv – så har det varit för mig i alla fall. För mig tog det nog ett bra tag att få självförtroende i mammarollen, att känna att just jag är mitt barns bästa mamma och våga lita på mina instinkter, det jag tror på osv.
Jag jämförde alltför mycket under rätt lång tid med andra mammor, barn osv. Det där är borta nu och jag känner mig mycket mer trygg och säker i min roll, men det har inte kommit över en natt utan har smygit sig på. Vissa barn är stora, andra små, vissa gör saker då, andra sen, vissa tycker man ska uppfostra så, andra si. Allt är ok, vi gör allt med de bästa avsikter och just det jag känner är rätt är rätt för mitt barn. Jag bryr mig inte längre om vad andra tycker och tänker, jag känner mitt barn bäst, vet vad som är bäst för vår familj, för mig osv. Som t.ex. sov hon med oss till så sent som förra veckan. Och jag skiter helt i vad andra tycker om det, det har funkat för oss. Var sak har sin tid dock, nu känns det lika skönt att börja med en ny era och separera på oss på det här viset. Det känns skönt att våga göra det man tror på, stå för det och inte vara osäker på om man gör “rätt”, viket jag var i början.
Tänk att V redan är 7 månader. Ja, tiden går ju fort och som du säger så är det med dubbla känslor man ser tiden rinna iväg.
KRAM

30 04 2012
petchie

Anne, det där med distans är sååå rätt när det gäller de första månaderna! NU kan man ju se att det man stressade upp sig över ordnade ju sig ganska bra till slut, och när man fått perspektiv till tröttheten etc så var det ju ändå lite mysigt, eller hur?😉
Vad intressant att du och Stella inte gillade omlottbodysarna! Det är som de där jättedumma pyjamasarna med knäppningen därbak på ändan – vi fick sådana [nya] av Os syster och begagnade av en kompis och vi kunde inte för vårt liv fatta varför man skulle köpa sådana. Att knäppa dem var ju omöjligt om man inte lade sin baby på magen och det gick ju inte när man precis matat honom… Os teori är att den bak-knäppningen är en kvarlega från när barn låg på magen och sov!?
Jag hade aldrig någon uppfattning om för eller emot samsovning och det blev ju direkt så att V och jag sov tillsammans… Lite tråkigt att O hamnade på soffan (innan vi bytte, så att V och jag sov på soffan!!) men det var nog bäst för oss alla 3 att vi sov uppdelat de första månaderna (annars hade vi varit två vuxna med 100%-ig sömnbrist…). DET hade jag nog varit helt anti om jag hade fått höra det före Vs födsel, att pappan inte skulle sova med mamman och barnet, men nu var det det som funkade bäst för oss.
Jaaa, man måste lita på att det man själv känner är rätt för ens familj ÄR det RÄTTA för just ens familj! Inte jämföra med andra, varken föräldrar eller barn eftersom vi alla är så olika!
Stor kram, saknar våra emailutbyten…

Leave a Reply

