Single mothers are my heroes!

27 11 2012

Or maybe that should be “heroines”? I am alone with V for the third time in a short time (a month?) while O is “business travelling” and if I find that everyday life is stressful when we are two sharing the responsibility of dropping off / picking up at the creche, and take care of V when he is ill, well it’s double that when I am alone! I have had some really bad luck as well with the last few times that V and I have been home alone:

Of course my annual medical check-up at work was scheduled for when O was travelling to Puerto Rico, then add problems with attaching the pram at the creche (we have to leave it outside on the drive-way, but my lock didn’t work with the chain), missing the tram, the nurses at the medical service forgetting to tell me to do a urine test so I had to go back the next day when I, instead of missing the tram, took the wrong decision to take the bus which moved 2 stops in 20 minutes etc.

Last time O was away, V and I overslept, which has never happened before! It seems that V doesn’t sleep as well when O is not at home, and very often he wakes up during the early morning hours and keeps turning around in the bed (he sleeps with me when we are alone) for up to 2 hours before I can get him to fall back to sleep. This particular morning he had been “awake”, he is not really conscious but not asleep either, for over two hours and when the alarm went off I thought that I had hit the snooze button but instead I had turned it off. V actually woke me up with a “mamma, mamma” and I looked over at the window and realised that it was very bright for that time of the day… Well, it was 7.45, not 6.45, and we should be at the creche already!

Oh well, and this time V was still ill from his throat and ear infection last week yesterday so I had to take a day off (plus Thursday and Friday last week). I was dreading coming back to work this morning and let’s say that… yes, I was right to dread it. Bad day at work 😩 At least I was public transport lucky this morning and did home (walking to creche = 20 min) – creche (from creche to the office = walking, tram, metro including one change of line) – office in 1 hour and 10 min! You might see why it is stressful in the mornings and afternoons with that kind of amount of time spent getting there…

I really hope that the rest of the week will be better, and I am so looking forward to O’s return on Thursday afternoon (may I hope that he will arrive on time to pick up V from the creche!??).

At the same time I shouldn’t just complain, as it is quite cosy as well to be alone with V who absolutely adores his father, but when he is not around, I get some of that attention 😉

No photos as my computer is dead after V spilt my coffee with milk* on the keyboard last week, and I am now using O’s old laptop which has Linux installed and no memory card slot.
*) My brother says that it is the milk that ruined it…

Actions

Information

5 responses

28 11 2012
Anna (Sthlm)

LĂ„ter tufft, och sĂ„ en massa otur ocksĂ„ 😩

Jag ska vara ensam med Isolde nu nĂ€rmaste dagarna för första gĂ„ngen mer Ă€n en natt eller tvĂ„ nĂ€r Peter Ă„ker och hĂ€lsar pĂ„ en kompis i Israel goch Ă€r borta fyra nĂ€tter. Det rĂ„kar dock sammanfalla med att förskolan Ă€r stĂ€ngd för planeringsdagar sĂ„ jag har tagit semester torsdag-fredag och det Ă€r egentligen bara onsdag som det blir lite meck med lĂ€mning och hĂ€mtning för mig. Å andra sidan ska jag inte klaga dĂ„ vi har 5-7 min till förskolan och sedan tar det 20 minuter för mig att traska till jobbet (ingen cykel i det hĂ€r hemska vĂ€dret).

28 11 2012
annagranstrom

HĂ„ller sĂ„ med – singelmammor Ă€r mina hjĂ€ltar!

ApropĂ„ sömn: jag Ă€r vĂ€rdelös pĂ„ att natta V till skillnad frĂ„n Martin…

28 11 2012
Miss Marie

Oh no! LĂ„ter inte kul alls! Det Ă€r nĂ€r jag hör sĂ„nt hĂ€r som jag Ă€r glad över att inte jobba o kunna vara hemma med Alfred, jag slipper alla lĂ€mningar och hĂ€mtningar, om han Ă€r sjuk behöver jag inte vara ledig frĂ„n jobbet o jag behöver inte balansera det dĂ„liga samvetet över barn vs. jobb. Alltid nĂ„got. 😉 Alfred har ocksĂ„ sĂ„na nĂ€tter ibland, fĂ„ han Ă€r “vaken” nĂ„gon timme utan att kunna somna om, det Ă€r utmattande!

29 11 2012
utvandrare2000talet

LĂ„ter vĂ€ldigt tufft och kĂ€mpigt. TillrĂ€ckligt mycket att fĂ„ ihop vardagen och all logistik som det Ă€r, sen med sĂ„n otur och detaljer som försova sig, lĂ€karbesök för egen del, sjukt barn osv. Ja, dĂ„ blir det ju snudd pĂ„ en mardröm. Jag tycker du fixat/fixar allting bra Ă€ndĂ„, ja man har ju inget alternativ men du gör ett bra jobb pĂ„ alla plan. Det Ă€r ju sĂ„na dĂ€r gĂ„nger man önskar man hade ett bĂ€ttre nĂ€tverk, ja dĂ„ tĂ€nker jag frĂ€mst pĂ„ familj som fanns nĂ€ra för kompisar Ă€r ju inte direkt tillgĂ€ngliga i de dĂ€r sammanhangen dĂ„ de sjĂ€lva jobbar, har egna barn osv. Vi har inte samma logistikproblem dĂ„ jag ju Ă€r hemma just nu, men jag tycker det Ă€r tillrĂ€ckligt kĂ€mpigt Ă€ndĂ„ (sĂ„ kan bara ana hur tufft det Ă€r för dig dĂ„ O Ă€r bortrest) eftersom jag drar det tyngsta lasset och M Ă€r vĂ€ldigt lite nĂ€rvarande i veckorna. Men han kommer ju alltid hem, Ă€ven om det Ă€r sent. Och han finns dĂ€r pĂ„ morgonarna och nattetid, en trygghet. Det Ă€r drygt vara helt ensam, som vid bortaresor. M var bortrest nyligen och jag tyckte inte alls om det, Ă€ven om jag ju dĂ„ bara var hemma med S och inte hade jobb, dagis osv att fixa. SĂ„….förstĂ„r till fullo det sliter pĂ„ och Ă€r hĂ„rt jobb för dig de gĂ„nger O Ă€r bortresa. Alla styrkekramar till dig!!!

29 11 2012
Bella

Ja, det Ă€r speciellt jobbigt nĂ€r lillen Ă€r sjuk. Jag Ă€r sĂ„ glad att jag har mina förĂ€ldrar nĂ€ra som kan hĂ€mta pĂ„ förskolan nĂ„n dag i veckan och jag kan jobba in lite…eller fĂ„ lite avlastning
Jag har varit ensam nu i sex veckor och kommer vara ensam i tre veckor till men jag tycker faktiskt det gÄr över förvÀntan. Sen har jag ju tur som har 5 min till förskolan o 10 min till jobbet. En skön promenad (i svenska november kylan;)
Kram pÄ dig o lycka till!

Leave a Reply

