2. Blog Advent Calendar: Tell something about your town

2 12 2012

Since 2002 Brussels is “my” town, and I really feel at home here. This is where I met my husband O, where I gave birth to our son V, where a lot of my friends live and where I have my professional life.

Grand' Place by night
The Brussels town hall at the Grand’ Place, where our friends are getting married in May next year!

I also have a hometown in Sweden, where my parents, my brother, my aunt and my grandfather live (my sister lives in the neighbouring town), but my life is in Brussels.

P1100719

Brussels is messy, dirty, frustrating, crowded and… well, also European / International, heterogeneous, challenging, open-minded, full of history, green (lots of parks), relatively affordable and I [almost] always defend it when other people complain about Brussels, because this is where I have my home!

Manneken Pis on the National Day