Friday theme / Show & tell: Cooking

27 06 2008

Victoria in Florida has chosen “cooking” as her last Friday theme.
Next time it is my turn to choose, but as we take a holiday break over July and August – the first Friday (5th) in September will be my first chosen theme – A SUMMER MEMORY.
The September themes are as follows:
5th September: A summer memory
12th September: Flags
19th September: A song that you think represents your town / region / country (home / adopted place of living) (use youtube if possible).
26th September: Walls – it could be anything from a beautiful wall, to what you have ON the wall(s), or what does the wall say about you… Maybe a little tricky!?

I promise to link to all Friday theme bloggers in September, I haven’t had time to prepare those links yet, sorry!

So, cooking is a big favourite of mine; both in theory (reading cook books) and in practise (the cleaning up afterwards is not that fun though!)… You might have already been able to tell that from my new Wednesday theme on recipes! I have a category called Food and recipes if you want to check for recipes; in the category widget on the right hand-side. However, today I am not publishing any recipes but just some nice photos of different ingredients:

Eggs for sale

Unstaffed stands with fresh vegetables and fruit for sale can be found along the roads in Sweden during the summer. At the moment strawberries are sold almost everywhere, but also new potatoes, eggs, radishes etc. We bought our Midsummer strawberries and potatoes along the road, paying by putting the money through a little hole to a small safe.

Self service sale of fruit and vegetables in Skåne

Do you like radishes?? I don’t and I can’t remember ever eating radishes at home when I was a child, only at my grandparents’ place.

Radishes

Visiting markets is a great way of experiencing what the locals eat when travelling, even if it is not always so easy to figure out how the products (veggies, fruit or spices) should be used:

I have already published a few photos from the Mexican market in Tijuana, but here is another one of a fruit stand:

Mexican fruit

This Palestinian woman was selling bread in Old Akko (Acre) in Israel.

Woman selling bread in Akko, Israel

Another photo of products sold in the market in Akko, it looks like almonds and some spices!?

Almonds and spices in a market in Acre / Akko, Israel

Last time I was in Spain, in October 2007 we were picking figs with O’s father! I am heading back to Spain on Sunday, I wonder what kind of fruit we might pick in the plantation during the summer!? O’s mother told us a few weeks ago that the red currant bush that we brought from my parents’ garden in Sweden (in 2006) is finally growing some berries so it will be nice to see it among all the almond and fig trees! She wanted some advice on what to do with the red currants, so I suggested making jam…

Fresh Spanish figs

Have a great weekend everybody!